PDA

View Full Version : DIY Tank Stand feedback

dleute
01/11/2016, 08:21 PM
Hey Everyone,

I am brand new to this site and just returning to the fish keeping hobby. I grew up with several tanks, but never had one in my adult life. I am currently planning a saltwater setup.

After looking at what it costs to have the kind of tank I helped my dad maintain, I decided to try the DIY route. Fortunately, one of my hobbies is 3d rendering. And hence, I worked on some tank stand designs. I am not an engineer, but I did have a contractor who builds stands like this look at them. He says it can easily hold the weight, but he doesn't know about tank specifics.

This forum won't let me upload all the images so I'm linking to an outside post on my blog:

http://wp.me/p2qtRQ-4O

I hope people are willing to take a look and tell me what they think!

Thanks!

Misled
01/13/2016, 05:58 PM
I added your pics. We don't allow links to other sites.I don't know why you had a problem.

http://i0.wp.com/www.allofzero.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Stand-Frame.jpg?zoom=2&resize=350%2C303

http://i1.wp.com/www.allofzero.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Stand-Top-Side-Floor.jpg?zoom=2&resize=350%2C326

http://i1.wp.com/www.allofzero.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Stand-Render-With-Tanks.jpg?zoom=2&resize=350%2C273

http://i0.wp.com/www.allofzero.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Stand-Alternate-Frame.png?zoom=2&resize=300%2C278

don_chuwish
01/14/2016, 11:21 AM
2 things - well three actually:

1. Yes it's WAY over strong built that way - can be done with much less material
2. Are those meant to be 4x4 lumber? It can twist and warp, sometimes long after assembly and living in your house. Typically doubling 2x4s is more stable.
3. None of that matters if that's the look you're going for! Not skinning it but leaving it all open? Then yeah, maybe 4x4 looks better.

Depending on your tools and skills, you can double up 2x4s and make them look good by jointing and planing - makes them dead straight too.