PDA

View Full Version : red sea algae test kit


dieseldaisy
01/12/2016, 09:59 PM
Hi I am looking for help with the notrate and phosphate test from red sea. I know i have high nitrate right now somewhere around 20-40 ppm using aquarium pharm kit. I dont understand how to test high range with red sea can anyone help? there is two vials of sample water from my tank do i dilute both or one and which one with ro water? so instead of testing 16ml of tank water am i only testing 1ml?

2una
01/13/2016, 03:50 PM
For NO3 high range
In vial 1 you put 16ml tank water
In vial 2 you put 1ml tank water & 15ml RO

You add the drops/powder to vial 2
If the disk then gives you say a 1ppm colour match that equates to 16ppm in high range (as you can see on the back of the card)

dieseldaisy
01/13/2016, 04:54 PM
thank you that makes sense

dieseldaisy
01/13/2016, 04:55 PM
is it the same steps for the phosphate test as well?

bertoni
01/13/2016, 07:27 PM
I haven't used that kit, but if no one can answer your question, you could try contacting Red Sea. They have a forum on this board:

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=7&f=573

dieseldaisy
01/13/2016, 08:18 PM
thanks bertoni! that looks like a good thread. I appreciate it.

bertoni
01/13/2016, 08:41 PM
You're welcome. Good luck!

2una
01/15/2016, 02:43 AM
PO4 is similiar
In vial 1 you put 17ml tank water
In vial 2 you put 2ml tank water & 15ml RO

cross ref the low range colour to the high range figure off the card (eg 0.16 will be 1.36 HR)

dieseldaisy
01/16/2016, 07:15 PM
so I tested my water using high range instructions above and its showing it to be what looks to be higher then the card goes now what? how do I know what the level is right now?

bertoni
01/16/2016, 07:41 PM
I would try testing some freshly-mixed saltwater to check for basic sanity on the test results. Distilled water might work, as well. What is the highest level on the card?