PDA

View Full Version : Maxcap filter questions


Xtc_link
01/21/2016, 03:50 PM
204 from well
3 after ro
1 after maxcap
1 after silicabuster

I know it's time to change the SB cart, this will be the first time changing the carts. Should I replace both now or let the MC go till is shows 50% of incoming clean water? Lol it's basically there.

Would it be advantageous to add the new filters inline with the current ones?

should I just buy them in pairs or does the MC sill have life left?

SpectraPure
01/22/2016, 09:59 AM
We probably need to degas the RO water, and then pump it through the DI. What is the PH and KH of the well water?

Jeremy

Xtc_link
01/22/2016, 06:17 PM
Api tests,,, ph7.2-7.4. Dkh 8

SpectraPure
01/25/2016, 05:08 PM
My calculations shows a a possible of 20-30 ppm of co2. Did you use a fresh water ph kit?

Xtc_link
01/25/2016, 06:04 PM
No but I have a ph pen and solution on the way. Also shouldn't I test alkalinity after ro? I was thinking about that today while waiting for concrete to dry

Xtc_link
01/25/2016, 06:40 PM
I used a high range and low range and came up with 7.2 7.4

SpectraPure
02/01/2016, 02:20 AM
Usually major co2 comes with a low ph, but you still have some.

Xtc_link
02/02/2016, 06:19 PM
Ha, I forgot about this thread. I've got a ph probe on the way so I can accurately test the co2 degassing tower.

why did the MC and SB carts read 1tds with in 30g of each other?

SpectraPure
02/02/2016, 11:09 PM
We do have a Co2 test kit. There could be numerous reasons why they have turned up to 1. How do you usually make your water, and how much do you usually make? Sometimes people have over a hundred ppm on wells depending on how deep they are. Degassed RO water allows the DI to last soo much longer. Your 3 tds may be 103 in reality. email me at [email protected] if you want a link to the Co2 test kit.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
02/07/2016, 07:52 PM
Co2 is present with out a doubt. Mc and SB DI carts are off line till the new carts arrive.
Ph probe arrived.

190ppm from well
2ppm after ro
0-1dkh after ro
6.4 ph after ro

Degassing chamber is completed and I've acquired all the parts except the float switches. Switching from a pressure switch with float valve in a trash can, to a dual dc float switch after the degassing tower to control the booster pump.

Xtc_link
02/07/2016, 07:53 PM
When I batch water I make 30g at a time and meticulously drain off tds creep from the 3 carts.

SpectraPure
02/15/2016, 11:45 AM
Did you use a Co2 test kit on the RO water to see what it brought the Co2 levels down to?

Jeremy

Xtc_link
02/15/2016, 01:57 PM
No, I had already placed my order and the girlfriend already looked at me sideways for the first order, lol

Calibration solution arrived and I bailed from work early today so I'm toying with the degassing tower today.

Test of ro water as of 20min ago.
92 psi at the membrane
71deg f
.5-1 dkh
5.8 ph. Digital pen calibrated before tests

bubbling 250ml ro water with dual air stones brings PH up to 7.1 in a little under two minutes

SpectraPure
02/15/2016, 03:47 PM
You can tell just by the PH raising typically. Calculate how many gallons you get out of your DI now.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
02/15/2016, 03:58 PM
Degassing tower I modeled after the one in the faq. Incoming 5.8. Out going 6.8 -6.9. I'll run the tower and bubble a can then gravity feed my DI canisters.

Now I have 3 tds meters and and 4 DI.
MC(old)>MC(new)>SB(old)>SB(new)

Where should I place the 3rd inline tds meter :)

SpectraPure
02/15/2016, 04:27 PM
I do you have 3 dual meters?

Jeremy

Xtc_link
02/15/2016, 04:53 PM
Yea just arrived with the ph pen, cal solution and DI carts...

SpectraPure
02/15/2016, 05:06 PM
Ok so the first One belongs on the RO. The in goes after the carbon block, but before the membrane, and the out goes after the ro, but before the first DI. Then the second meter in after maxcap 1, and out after maxcap 2. The last meter in after silicabuster 1, and the out after silicabuster 2.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
05/29/2016, 10:53 AM
My DI rack has stopped allowing water to flow. Each cartridge tests fine individually. I removed them one by one and cart #2(new maxcap) is the culprit.

The rack has been perfect for 4 trash cans but now it drains to 27 gallons and stops.

Current tests results:
5.8ph alk 8 from Well.
212 before ro, 4 after ro
3 after maxcap cartridge #1(old maxcap)
1ppm after cart #3 (old SB)
0ppm after cart #4 (new SB)


http://http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y383/Xtclink/Fish/image_zpskbkpqizu.jpeg

Xtc_link
05/29/2016, 10:59 AM
http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y383/Xtclink/Fish/image_zpstyvnloqb.jpeg (http://s1272.photobucket.com/user/Xtclink/media/Fish/image_zpstyvnloqb.jpeg.html)
http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y383/Xtclink/Fish/image_zpskbkpqizu.jpeg (http://s1272.photobucket.com/user/Xtclink/media/Fish/image_zpskbkpqizu.jpeg.html)

SpectraPure
05/31/2016, 07:52 AM
try switching the maxcaps to see if the problem moves down the line.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
05/31/2016, 04:37 PM
My old maxcap flows fine, but the new one doesn't flow?

Xtc_link
05/31/2016, 04:44 PM
I've tried each of them individually and they work, but when I put them all together the new maxcap doesn't allow water to flow

SpectraPure
05/31/2016, 04:58 PM
Switch the maxcap into a different position to see if you get water in the one you did not before.

Xtc_link
05/31/2016, 05:02 PM
Want me to put it in between my silica buster carts?

I've already swapped it between the old maxcap.
The new maxcap is not allowing water to flow.

SpectraPure
05/31/2016, 05:33 PM
Yes please!

Xtc_link
05/31/2016, 06:22 PM
Tried that, It didn't flow

SpectraPure
06/01/2016, 02:22 PM
Send us your contact info, and your proof of purchase to [email protected]

Jeremy

SpectraPure
06/01/2016, 02:23 PM
We may need to only run one maxcap with a different cartridge like a anion cartridge for extra silicate removal.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
06/01/2016, 06:18 PM
Why? If I only wanted to run one maxcap I would of trashed the old on that's putting out 2tds and just ran the new one.

I'm trying to figure out why this cart all of a sudden won't let water flow. Even when I run it solo it doesn't flow. Proff of purchase? I'm no longer with the lady who's name I used to purchase the system. Do you need PoP on the carts? Cause I'm not with her either, lol. I can get a receipt of the new cart purchase. I got the full maxcap kit,, minus membrane.

Xtc_link
06/02/2016, 05:18 PM
I'm trying to figure out if this is normal. I want buy another cart but don't know what to do.

SpectraPure
06/02/2016, 07:06 PM
take some pictures of the cartridges side by side. front and back photos please.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
06/02/2016, 08:50 PM
I'll take more pics tomorrow after work. The pics in this thread are recent. It's weird cause both maxcap carts are white and tan plane as day. I'll get pics but the pics in his thread are from this week.

Xtc_link
06/03/2016, 05:21 PM
http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y383/Xtclink/Fish/image_zpslmmn9hcl.jpeg (http://s1272.photobucket.com/user/Xtclink/media/Fish/image_zpslmmn9hcl.jpeg.html)

http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y383/Xtclink/Fish/image_zpsetoms8cl.jpeg (http://s1272.photobucket.com/user/Xtclink/media/Fish/image_zpsetoms8cl.jpeg.html)


The one on the right is the new cart. I looked at the SB carts and they don't have gaps or holes like the cart on the right.

Xtc_link
06/04/2016, 04:19 PM
I also tried again individually last night. The old carts flow fine the two new ones seem to be clogged now. Last weekend they just created a little pressure.

Xtc_link
06/04/2016, 05:41 PM
I was able to obtain the receipt
Order Id: 15225 02/02/2016

SpectraPure
06/06/2016, 05:38 PM
We do not recommend running two maxcaps and two silicabusters in a row with 1/4 inch lines and fittings through a gravity feed or through a small pump. Please send us the suspect cartridge back, and if it is in fact defective it will be replaced. We will have no problem replacing the cartridge if it is defective.

Please send the cartridge to

Spectrapure Inc.
2167 E. 5Th St
Tempe, AZ 85281
RMA-Jeremy110

SpectraPure
06/06/2016, 05:47 PM
It also doesn't sound like the set up is correct, and it also seems like the silicabuster cartridge is clogged. If all cartridges flow water individually, and if all cartridges flow minus the old silicabuster, the problem is the old silicabuster.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
06/07/2016, 04:02 AM
2 weekends ago they allowed water to flow, which is why I was just though it was head pressure issues. This recent weekend they won't even flow. The new maxcap and the old SB are the clogged carts.

Xtc_link
06/07/2016, 04:03 AM
I'll send them back so they can be looked at. Ty

SpectraPure
06/13/2016, 01:48 PM
The pads in the top get clogged up, and the maxcap resin is super fine. There are better combos out there for four DI cartridges.

When I get it. I will take a look, and we may need to switch to something else. Maybe we don't and it is a dud. I will look at things like pressure drop and flow rate through the cartridges.

Thanks for hanging in there.

Jeremy

Xtc_link
07/02/2016, 08:52 PM
Well the ex that was so gracious to give me the receipt also said she would ship them out for me. long story short, after no word I stopped over there Friday and she pointed to the box I packaged. She laughed and closed the door. So yea, that was fun lol. I had to remove them from the box cause I couldn't put it in my car.

So now after All this time. Is it even worth sending them in? Or should I just gonna toss them.

Had a mass algae bloom 2 weeks ago. The new gf cleaned the tank and removed the temp sensor. I woke at 4am for work and the temps were at 94. Lost the fish, nuked the tank... Fun fun

SpectraPure
07/08/2016, 12:24 PM
Oh man im sorry. Its not worth sending them in at this point. email me at [email protected]