PDA

View Full Version : Quietest Return Pump?

cpllongjk
02/02/2016, 06:53 PM
I've eliminated most of the noise/vibrations coming from my tank except my return pump. It is honestly the noisiest piece of equipment in my tank.

I currently run the eheim 1260 and I call it Old Faithful because it never quits. I've been running it for over 3 years with no issues.

To make a long story short, I am looking for a return pump that is super quiet that provides about 500+gph flow at roughly 5ft of head pressure.

Any ideas?

MidwesternTexan
02/02/2016, 06:58 PM
Good flow, adjustable, silent? I use the DC12000.

Most would say not reliable however, Mines been ~ 2 years.

zachfishman
02/02/2016, 07:53 PM
Do you have the pump sitting on a cushion of some sort? I reduced the noise from my Eheim significantly by wedging a wad of filter floss between it and my acrylic sump. Ice heard of others using silicone cooking pads for this.

cpllongjk
02/02/2016, 08:12 PM
No there isnt anything between the pump and the glass sump. I can try to put something under it first.

Are mousepads safe for reef? I remember reading way back when that people used mousepads as a cushion.

zachfishman
02/02/2016, 08:33 PM
No there isnt anything between the pump and the glass sump. I can try to put something under it first.

Are mousepads safe for reef? I remember reading way back when that people used mousepads as a cushion.

I've heard of reefers using mousepads but I'm weary of doing so. Search the forums and let us know what you find. I've also heard of people using silicone baking mats like these (http://www.amazon.com/Aroma-Bakeware-Non-Stick-Silicone-Baking/dp/B00KN1408E/ref=sr_1_9?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1454466559&sr=1-9&keywords=silicone+mat).

I've also taken internal pumps and spread a layer of silicone on the bottom side as a vibration absorber.

reefiness
02/02/2016, 08:34 PM
my dc9000 is pretty silent.

trmiv
02/02/2016, 09:28 PM