PDA

View Full Version : Hair algae confusion

klatt
02/12/2016, 08:19 PM
Hi all! Ive been battling a hair algae problem for the past 2 months. My tank is 12 months old this month. Ive spent hours online trying to educate myself on how to battle this, and nothing I try seems to help. Ive cut back on feeding, half a cube of PE mysis shrimp per day and a quarter sheet of dried algae every 2 days. A few basics about my tank: my skimmer is rated for a 220 Gal tank, my tank is 100G. I've been running GFO in a reactor since before my first fish, which i change with each WC. About 6 months ago I started using No3Po4x when my nitrates started creeping up fasted than my 2 week WC schedule could handle. That worked great and I finally settled on 2.5ml per day, about a month into that dosing I started getting white fuzzy rocks, which i read was probably caused by bacteria from nopox, so I went to 2 ml per day, everything stayed fine after that. My skimate has continued to be a light brown tea color ever since, no hint of green.

Then just in august I changed from changed from cheap current orbit leds to kessil a360we's, and after a learning curve where i blasted way too much light, 85% power, I dialed back to 60% and the corals are doing fine. I am partly thinking that that couple week period when i blasted my tank with light may have been the start of the hair algae issue, just a guess. Then at christmas I added 2 actinic T5 bulbs to round out lighting. Then in early to mid jan the algae bloom happened. Since then Ive added a box of marine pure balls to sump, slowly upped my nopox dosing to 4ml per day(thinking it will help fight that phosphate, wherever its coming from). I change my filter socks everyday, as well as skimmer neck. I also changed out my refugium bulb as my macro algae growth has slowed way down over the past 2 months, and added a red LED plant light to try out.