PDA

View Full Version : Lanthanum Chloride

homer1475
02/18/2016, 06:13 PM
I originally posted this in the newbie section and got no response, So I thought I might get a better look at it here instead.

So I read to to help leach out the phosphates in BRS dry pukani I need to use lanthanum chloride. A product called free & Klear made by Sea Klear is to be used. I just want to make sure I'm buying the correct product.

http://www.poolsuppliessuperstore.co...FRCOaQod-YILKA (http://www.poolsuppliessuperstore.com/poolsupplies/Free-And-Klear.html?adpos=1t1&creative=66983807445&device=c&matchtype=b&network=g&gclid=COigsYqxgssCFRCOaQod-YILKA)

I'm doing 50# of dry pukani in a large brute container, with a heater and powerhead to cycle. If I read the thread properly, I need to use the phospahte remover, dump water, refill, repeat. During this process since I'm using salt water it will also be cycling my rock?

Just want to make sure I'm doing this right as I've never used dry rock before. I've only every had to cure live rock, and I certainly don't need a huge PO4 issue in my new tank.

MaLi
02/18/2016, 06:37 PM
homer ... you have the right product. I am not really sure the approach you read is the right one. If I were you I will use about 5 ml of SeaKlear per gallon of water and have a water change every 24h. LaCl will react almost instantly with Phosphate if that is around forming a precipitate. You need a powerhead or a pump to have that water in motion all the time.
As far as how many times you need to do it, I have no clue. I think no one knows if rocks will store phosphates just on the surface or there is also a volume storage. You may need to measure phosphate level.

hope it helps,
MaLi

bertoni
02/18/2016, 06:56 PM