PDA

View Full Version : Rookie mistake

artiewylde
02/22/2016, 10:57 PM
I feel awful...I have been cycling my tank for almost 4 months now and thought I was ready for fish. Bought a really cool pair of clowns and both died. I suspect it was because of high salt levels....I have been topping off with SALT water and not fresh rodi. I was noticing the levels rising as the water circulated....I wish the person at the store would have asked me more instead of just handing me the fish. I know its just fish but I just feel awful. I'm going to be extra careful now and read more into it before fish. Just wanted to share.

SexyRob
02/22/2016, 10:59 PM
live and learn, sorry for your loss.

Jeff4777
02/22/2016, 11:00 PM
Yep top off with fresh water. Salt doesn't evaporate. Check your salinity. 4 months is more than enough time to cycled especially if you have LR

artiewylde
02/22/2016, 11:09 PM
now I know....try again in a couple of weeks

Member No. 1
02/23/2016, 04:29 AM
We all need to start somewhere. If you plan on getting into this hobby for the long run, my advise is start early with some good habits. One of which is learning how to check your water parameters, and to do it on a regular bases.
You will learn a lot, have a better understanding of water chemistry, and this will help to avoid bigger problems down the line.
Hang in there, you will be fine.

Marchillo
02/23/2016, 04:38 AM
I wouldn't be too hard on the fish store on this one. The lfs can't assume that someone doesn't know not to top off with fresh RODI versus saltwater. And I'm not knocking you either. I believe my very first top off was also with saltwater. I'd blame the lfs if they told you it's ok to buy a powder blue tang for a 40g tank or to cycle a tank with a chromis.

Read through the stickies of getting started. There's a lot to know but once you know it things aren't that difficult. Don't beat yourself up over it.

Sapelo
02/23/2016, 05:14 AM