PDA

View Full Version : Help! I've been using tap water for 2 years!

Meadowofdragons
02/23/2016, 02:57 AM
Okay okay okay. So I've had my 72g saltwater tank set up for two years. TWO YEARS! And I've only been using tap water for my aquarium and it has been working fine. But the problem is, I've had a brown algae (diatom) problem from the beginning and it has never gone away. After getting tired of cleaning the algae off of the whole tank for 2 years, I've been trying for the last 6-7 months to determine the cause of it because my water perameters are all in check and I've finally decided that's it's probably because I use tap water! I should really switch over to RO/DI water, but I have no idea how! Like I said, this tank has been mature with fish and liverock for two years now. Am I supposed to switch over slowly over time with water changes? Or do I put the fish in a bucket and do it all at once? (Will that mess with my cycle?) Also, do I need to buy a RO/DI unit for my sink? Or can I just buy jugs of it somewhere! I don't have much money right now I can't afford to buy a whole unit! I'm in a bit of a pickle and would appreciate any advice. Thank you!

Member No. 1
02/23/2016, 04:19 AM
Not to worry, it's not all that bad, nor are immediate actions required.
Whether you buy a RODI unit, or buy RODI water doesn't matter and it's what you need to figure out cost wise. Weight the cost of a unit over how much you will be paying for water.