PDA

View Full Version : Does this DIY tank seem secure/safe?

Candi
03/01/2016, 08:07 AM
Hi everyone!

Hopeful for some advice, I've been keeping mixed reefs for about a decade now but this is my first time buying a DIY tank. I bought this from a local guy (works for a glass company & builds his own tanks).

He said he leak tested it for over a week w/o issue, I decided to do the same for my own piece of mind... it did fine, but when I was draining it (did the front first, maybe that was a mistake?) I had a silicone seal pop on one of the rear sections. Everything else still seems secure but it has me a bit worried. Any issues with that small gap now? Is the tank itself built well from what you can see? Should I worry about anything in the back with the sections/baffles? Thank you for any advice! Tank is about 65 gallons and I'd like to keep that water off my carpet ;)

* editing to add: the stand does wrap around the base very securely and it has a canopy that is also a very snug fit around the top edge.

hotelbravo
03/01/2016, 08:43 AM
You said the silicone popped off of the overflow when draining the front section. That shouldnt have happened. Is that plastic or plexiglass for the overflow box? Generally you dont use silicone to adhere something to glass that is not glass itself.

Candi
03/01/2016, 08:48 AM
I'm honestly not sure what the white material is, some sort of plastic I assume. If you look at the 4th photo, that is where the silicone came loose, the bottom of that piece popped where it was siliconed to the other piece of white plastic (the silicone from the white portions to the glass held)

You said the silicone popped off of the overflow when draining the front section. That shouldnt have happened. Is that plastic or plexiglass for the overflow box? Generally you dont use silicone to adhere something to glass that is not glass itself.

soulpatch
03/01/2016, 09:03 AM