PDA

View Full Version : Torch Coral, Anemone, or Similar??

jport092
03/02/2016, 08:36 AM
I'm fairly new to the hobby so please excuse me if this seems like an obvious question. I recently bought a frag with what seemed like a small torch coral. The attendant at the LFS could not identify it for me but I was pretty sure it was a torch coral since it had long tentacles and green tips. It came attached to a small piece of rock on a frag plug. When I put it in my tank around the middle of the tank with moderate flow and moderate light, it seemed to move on its own under a rock. I left it there for a day or two and this morning I saw it disattached from the plug and in a corner of the tank clearly moving along the glass. I am now thinking this is likely an anemone. Any help in identifying would be greatly appreciated.

(Please excuse the algae on the corner of the tank. I got my scraper replacement blades coming in the mail soon)

JoeBatt
03/02/2016, 08:39 AM
First picture I cant make out but the second looks like an anemone...maybe a rose anemone? Its not a torch if its moving off and around on its own

Keoki18
03/02/2016, 09:08 AM
Its not a coral, and not an anemone. Looks like a nudibranch. Maybe from the family Aeolidioidea? In either case, almost all within this family are coral eaters. It may be best to remove it from your tank, less it eats your new corals. Neat animal though!

Vdubtech25
03/02/2016, 09:33 AM
+1 on it looking like a nudibranch, id move it to fuge or somewhere isolated until you can positively ID it tho.

Sugar Magnolia
03/02/2016, 09:39 AM
It's a species of aeolid nudibranch. Aeolid are coral eaters that generally take on the characteristics of the corals they consume in order to camouflage themselves.

jport092
03/02/2016, 09:43 AM