PDA

View Full Version : Brand new, want feedback on buy list

ReefMagician
03/19/2016, 07:28 PM
Hey guys,

I am brand new to reef tank keeping. I have been doing research for several months now regarding the hobby. I'm finally moving forward with the project. below is my "buy" list. I wanted some feedback, primarily to ensure I have everything nailed down.

125 Gallon Tank - $510
Eheim 1262 - $137.49 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/EHEIM-1262-Water-Pump-898-gph-NEW-/351436459454)
55 Gallon Sump - $55 (Petco)
Reef Octopus Classic 150INT - 229.99 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Reef-Octopus-Classic-150INT-Protein-Skimmer-for-aquariums-up-to-210-gallons-/281961470292?hash=item41a6369954:g:Jk8AAOSwstxU75CM)
BRS 4 Stage Value Plus RO/DI System - 199.99 (http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/brs-4-stage-value-plus-ro-di-system-75gpd-1.html)
2x Evo 1400 - 87.98 (http://www.amazon.com/Hydor-Evolution-Aquarium-Circulation-1400-1500/dp/B0036S1ETY#Ask)
Aqueon 300W - 22.15 (http://www.amazon.com/Aqueon-06104-Submersible-Aquarium-Heaters/dp/B000YADYXG)
Supernight for lighthing (DIY Solution) - around 70 bucks (http://www.amazon.com/SUPERNIGHT-Waterproof-Flexible-300leds-Changing/dp/B00ASHP1CM/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1458436765&sr=8-3&keywords=supernight)

Do you guys think my lighting solution would work for a reef tank? I plan to do a mixed reef tank. Of course, this list does not include the rock,salt,sand,etc. I am primarily concerned with the equipment. The only thing I am missing would be an aquarium controller. Can you guys recommend one?

jminick2
03/19/2016, 07:53 PM
Not familiar with DIY supernight but I doubt for 70 bucks its going to work otherwise I would of heard of it.

ReefMagician
03/19/2016, 07:55 PM
Not familiar with DIY supernight but I doubt for 70 bucks its going to work otherwise I would of heard of it.

I'm trying to steer away from it. What lightning solutions could you recommend for a 6 foot long tank?

Mrw1936
03/19/2016, 07:58 PM