PDA

View Full Version : Which Comes First.....Fish or Coral

BF90GREEF
03/21/2016, 04:19 PM
I am new to the hobby and have a lot of questions. I am in the process of setting up a 90 Gallon (48x24x18) mixed reef tank. I put in about 1 1/2" of substrate (CARIBSEA ARAGAMAX OOLITIC SELECT SAND), 90 lbs of BRS Dry live rock, and 25 lbs of live rock that I bought from a local guy. Much to my surprise, after two weeks, the ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates were all at 0.

I have a couple questions:

1) not sure if I brought anything into the tank with the live rock I bought from the local guy. Should I treat the tank now before I put anything in it as a precautionary measure?

2) I plan on putting in both coral and a few fish. Which should I put in first or can I put them in together?

3) Should I add all the fish at the same time or should I stage them in separately. I was thinking about adding them in 3 - 4 groups.

Below is the list of Fish and Corals I am planning on adding. My plan is to add the passive fish first and add the more aggressive fish later. Also, any that have a qty. of 2 will be added at the same time. Any thoughts or comments on these would be appreciated.

Fish:
Group 1:
• Harptail Blenny (Qty. 1)
• Firefish (Qty. 2)

Group 2:
• Neon Blue Goby (Qty. 2)
• Yellow Assessor (Qty. 1)

Group 3:
• Orchid Dottyback (Qty. 2)
• Banggai cardinalfish (Qty. 1)

Group 4:
• Ocellaris clownfish (Qty. 2)
• Yellow stripe Maroon Clownfish (Qty. 1)

Group 5:
• Powder Blue Tang (1) (9") (Herbivore) - $69.99

Clean Up Crew:
• Peppermint Shrimp (Qty. 4)
• Electric Blue Hermit Crab (Qty. 5)
• Scarlet Reef Hermit Crab (Qty. 10)
• Astraea Turbo Snails (Qty. 5)
• Nassarius Snails (Qty. 5)
• Cerith Snails (Qty. 5)
• Emerald Crab (Qty. 1)

Corals:

• Soft Corals
○ Colony Polyp, Eagle Eye
§ Semi-Aggressive
§ Medium water flow, moderate lighting
○ Kenya tree coral
§ Semi-Aggressive
§ Medium to Strong water flow, moderate to high lighting
○ Pom Pom Xenia Coral
§ Peaceful