PDA

View Full Version : alage/coraline grow

Marine NZ
03/21/2016, 05:58 PM
hi all im fairly new to my marine hobby i have a 200L tank with t5 lighting live rock a power head, 200w heater and a protein skimmer. after 3months i am still getting brown/redish algae only on the glass, but also specs of coraline have started showing up everywhere on glass and are growing bigger everday is this normal. should i leave my 4 astrea snails and bunch of hermits and snails from the ocean carry on to clean. i cant afford ro/di water so i just change out with tap water and add prime to it. i have alot of soft coral and hard coral 2 mushrooms and 1 blue damsil

Danieldv6
03/21/2016, 06:39 PM
Unfortunally if dont use ro/di water will be very hard to fix this kinf of problems.you might need to add a gfo and carbon reactor if you have a sump to help with the hight nutrients.mtc

petperk
03/21/2016, 06:43 PM
3 months are still pretty young for a tank. Definitely put some clean up crews in and get a bio-pellet reactor to remove the PO4 and NO3 to reduce with the algae problem.

z3speed4me
03/22/2016, 06:04 AM
Doesn't coraline take 6-9 months to even start establishing itself?
I'd suggest saving up for a RO unit though, it's going to save you money in the long run if you plan on keeping with the hobby.

Joeb1983
03/22/2016, 08:15 AM
Tap water contains Nitrates and Phosphates along with many other things.

(I would suggest you invest in a RODI unit when finances allow).

Seachem Prime according to them:

* Removes chlorine & chloramine.

* Detoxifies ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate.

The phosphates are what is fueling your algae along with your tank being young.

Here is a good read:

https://www.asm.org/index.php/educators/k-12-classroom-activities/23-education/k-12-teachers/8196-effect-of-nitrate-and-phosphate-levels-on-growth-of-algae

Coraline algae will take some time to appear. Its best to introduce it into your system.