PDA

View Full Version : Initial Setup/hardware plans 6' 135

tonyjd34
03/22/2016, 11:28 AM
Hi Reefcentral,
This is my first post and I want to start off by saying thank you all for being such a great resource for newbs like myself... i'd love to get some feedback on some equipment options that I was planning on a 6' 135g. setup.

This would be my first saltwater setup but I've been breeding African cichlids for about 8 yrs now. I've spent virtually all of my free time reading books and digging through every article on setups and starting out on reefcentral and any other online resource I've come across for the past year. Its been awesome but now I think i'm ready to take the plunge...

So I would love feedback on some equipment which I was looking to buy.. mostly I want to know if it will accommodate my plans..

Fish:
Yellow Tang
Powder Brown Tang
squaretail bristletooth tang
some wrasses, haven't decided which yet
and eventually maybe an anemone with two clowns

Corals would be introduced slowly and would be beginner softies and some LPS

so equipment, I wanted to get quality items but not break the bank completely.. was looking at the following for the 6' 135

Tank will be drilled for a beananimal style drain with a c2c overflow
Sump 55g (48x12x18) with 3 chambers, middle to house chaeto

lights: Kessil AP700 x 2 really like these

Return pump: Sicce syncra silent 5.0(1320gph) big enough?

Protein skimmer: Aquamaxx ConeS co-1 big enough?

Powerheads: Brs has a deal on 2 Sicce voyager (1600gph) with a wave controller, otherwise was looking at Tunze powerheads I have a couple other powerheads which I could throw in this tank but am hoping that those two will do most of the trick
Brs reefsaver rock ~120lbs and then once those have cycled about 30lbs live rock, haven't decided on from where yet, suggestions welcome!
planning 1" sand bed