PDA

View Full Version : Wheres the water going?

mattyg18
03/24/2016, 06:53 PM
Newbie here about one week into a new cycle. I've got a 60gal cube with 20gal sump. My return pump has a ball valve on the output side and tees off to the tank or back to the sump with valve. The water level in my sump goes down about an inch every 24 hours and I need to either add water, slow down the return flow, or adjust the valve putting water back into the sump off the t. If I don't do either of the previous then the level gets too low for the return pump.

I dont see any water inside of the cabinet where the sump is, on the floor, or anywhere. I know the water does evaporate but is it possible its evaporating that fast? I'm new at this so not sure if this is normal or not. It just seems like its evaporating way too fast.

Any help on this is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

sirclintler
03/24/2016, 06:58 PM
I would say evap is the culprit if their are no signs of leaks, I evap about 4 gal in 24 hours on my 125

SammyL
03/24/2016, 07:00 PM
Evaporation

heathlindner25
03/24/2016, 07:02 PM
Newbie here about one week into a new cycle. I've got a 60gal cube with 20gal sump. My return pump has a ball valve on the output side and tees off to the tank or back to the sump with valve. The water level in my sump goes down about an inch every 24 hours and I need to either add water, slow down the return flow, or adjust the valve putting water back into the sump off the t. If I don't do either of the previous then the level gets too low for the return pump.

I dont see any water inside of the cabinet where the sump is, on the floor, or anywhere. I know the water does evaporate but is it possible its evaporating that fast? I'm new at this so not sure if this is normal or not. It just seems like its evaporating way too fast.

Any help on this is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

It's evaporation bro.... add fresh RODI water everyday.

Martini5788
03/24/2016, 07:03 PM