PDA

View Full Version : Experienced reefer starting first SPS.

r3joe
04/04/2016, 05:00 PM
I'm not a newbie to the hobby but it's been almost four years since I've had an aquarium. I owned a 60 gallon aquarium that hosted LPS and softies and a 6 gallon aquarium that housed a harlequin shrimp pair.

SPS however is new to me, however. I rarely had to dose my 60 gallon when I was hosting LPS and softies and the lighting I had was four 48" T5 bulbs. I know I'm going to need something a little beefier than that. LED now seems like an option, and was mainly used for the smaller Nanos when I was in the hobby before, but as I read around the forums it seems LED in an SPS tank is a bit controversial.

It's unfortunate that I'm unable to salvage my equipment since I gave most of it to my brother, who's been MIA for the last two years. :( So, I'll end up having to buy some new equipment.

Preface:
JBJ 45 gallon AIO aquarium.
4 stage RO/Di unit for water purification.
Tunze 9004
As far as fish and other livestock: undecided. Obviously animals that are reef safe and wouldn't harm the corals.

Here are my questions:
Can I get away with a 1/15 chiller? I know if I run halides I probably would. LED, I might be a little safer. I would get the 1/10, but buying the same equipment twice just does something to me psychologically that I don't like! My apartment has good insulation but in the summer it does heat up a bit. I have to leave windows open.

Can I get away with a LED light fixture? I'm looking at the AquaIllumination Hydra 52 HD LED. It seems to be a popular light fixture around here. Wondering if this would provide the spectrum required for SPS at my aquarium depth or if I would have to just invest in some metal halides

With a LED light fixture, can I grow clams? SPS corals and Clams are things I've avoided with my last aquariums, mainly because I was really happy with my T5 lighting. I've always wanted one.