PDA

View Full Version : Time for an ATS?

mpderksen
04/10/2016, 09:52 PM
My biggest issue with this hobby is GHA. Nothing makes me want to sell everything more than this. I had been doing great for many months and now I see patches of it again. I had shut down my GFO/carbon reactor for a while and maybe that was the tipping point. I changed the media today and it running again. With 1/2 cup of ROX and BRS GFO. Twice what is needed for a 75g.
In the past I've used sea hares, abalone, turbos etc. and nothing made a dent. I eventually suspected my rock, that was given to me by someone that used tap water for years. Phosphate leaching was all I could think of. For the last year since the complete change, the tank has only had GHA in the overflow. So I painted the cover to black it out, and at least slow the growth.
Now that I'm seeing early signs again, I'm worried. Is a turf scrubber really the only answer in this hobby? I see so many pictures of tanks without algae problems, and yet rarely see an ATS in their sump. My various herbivores clearly aren't keeping up. So do I just build one? And if I do, does it completely replace my skimmer? I'm all for advances, but reefers have been creating successful tanks for decades. What am I missing?

thegrun
04/10/2016, 10:05 PM
Herbivores only mask the problem at best, the algae can be beaten but it is important to keep up with the GFO and continue to try to reduce the nutrients. The phosphates will eventually quit leaching out of the rocks but only if you keep the water clean. On the clean up crew side it's hard to beat a good tuxedo urchin for mowing down the algae.

Volcmreefer
04/10/2016, 10:45 PM
Have you tested your water for phosphates? Keep up with the GFO. Maybe take out the rock and acid wash and dose Lanthanum Chloride for a week or two in a brute container if you suspect rocks are leaching if you have to. Don't give up!

snorvich
04/11/2016, 03:37 AM