PDA

View Full Version : Water Changes: How much is too much or too little

Seagars
04/24/2016, 08:52 AM
I have a 150g tank and was just curious what others think on the level of water changes. How many gallons would be too many (major water changes) or how much is too little (why bother). thanks

tmz
04/24/2016, 10:02 AM
I prefer small frequent water changes to provide more constancy in the water chemistry of the tank( major , minor and trace elements). One percent per day is what I've been doing for many years. If more is desired over a short period of time 15% increments per day are reasonable, with some testing for critical parameters IMO.

ComforablyNumb
04/24/2016, 10:18 AM
I have a small tank (55g) and I routinely do 60% water changes every couple of months. No deleterious effects noted altho I see the rationale behind doing 1% changes daily.

blasterman789
04/24/2016, 01:15 PM
Unless I'm trying to fix something I've always been a believer in conservative water changes. Do them on a regular basis, but if you have one of those tanks that starts to deteriorate rapidly if you aren't changing 25% water on a weekly basis something is wrong, and I'll battle that opinion until I'm bloody.

If you need to do lots of water changes to export nutrients (nitrate) then you need to rethink your bioload and feeding. If you need to do more to suppliment something (alk) or keep water params stable then you obviously need to invest in a couple test kits and a box of baking soda and jar of calcium chloride.