PDA

View Full Version : Fish breathing rapidly, should I worry?

Kayvon77
04/28/2016, 11:01 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160429/072f3ca242c1b44935791dec21fd1340.jpg

Hello all, this is my first time posting here, so I'm hoping you guys can humor my naivety. I'm fairly new to the reef keeping hobby, although I did maintain a 60 gallon saltwater tank about 10 years ago to no success. So, trying my hand a second time again hoping to have better luck and armed with more knowledge by soaking it all up trolling these forums.

So I digress, I have a Chromis that is currently hanging above a LR and just breathing very rapidly. I don't see any signs of stress or disease on him, but I don't have a trained eye at these things. I'm hoping you guys can give me some pointers as to what to do?

Being fairly new, I set up my tank about three weeks ago. I started with three Chromises, and I experience one casualty through the Nitrogen Cycle. In the last week, I got three more and up until this afternoon everything was fine, except one that was swimming on his side on the substrate and breathing heavily and struggling to keep balanced. I finally fished the guy out and put him in a container where I treated him with a few drops of PraziPro, thinking it may have been some kind of infection or parasite of some sort. Seemed like he was getting worst. He was down the toilet twenty minutes later :(

Now, I got this one that's breathing rapidly and just staying stationary above the live rock. Please help. I'm afraid I may wake up tomorrow to another dead fish!
Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

krullshards
05/04/2016, 07:56 AM
There's really not enough information here for any kind of definitive guidance. Also, chromis fight a lot among themselves especially in small spaces/tanks so unless you have a fairly large tank having a bunch of them will inevitably lead to loss.