PDA

View Full Version : ProbioS


DamonG
05/01/2016, 09:55 AM
Hello,I just ordered this bacteria.. I am currently and have used zeobak for a very long time..

What interested me and caught my eye, is it's phosphate reduction claim..

I am just wondering, real world experience using this product..I currently am using pellets as of course a carbon source and nitrate reduction solution, so I don't want to change that. I also have a 210 gallon twv system, that the nutrients are low, but I have to use gfo.. I purchased some aquaforest gfo and placed 500ml in my reactor 36 hours ago. I tested yesterday, and it read 0.04. I am trying to give it the 48 hoods to see if it comes down more..

If this bacteria(Probios) really does reduce phosphate, it would be a great way to save money on gfo.. So I am simply interested in feedback on how much, and does it really reduce the phosphate..

And being that I have ordered it already, if it did reduce your phosphate, I'm just curious as to how long it took to lower it?

This us an interesting product claim, so I'm just trying to find out as much as I possibly can..

Thank you...

Sent from my SM-N920F using Tapatalk

Aquaforest
05/02/2016, 06:35 AM
Hello,
We recommend to use Pro Bio S with -NP Pro.
Reducing Phosphate depends of many elements ( the size and the number, type of corals, the size and the number, type of fish).

Pro Bio S and -NP Pro reduce phosphates and nitrates.

Regards,
Aquaforest

DamonG
05/02/2016, 06:54 AM
Hello,
We recommend to use Pro Bio S with -NP Pro.
Reducing Phosphate depends of many elements ( the size and the number, type of corals, the size and the number, type of fish).

Pro Bio S and -NP Pro reduce phosphates and nitrates.

Regards,
Aquaforest
Even if I am using biopellets right now in my system?

Sent from my SM-N920F using Tapatalk

eg8r210
05/03/2016, 06:36 AM
I copied this from another thread here on RC...

Yes - You Can dose Pro Bio S when Your biopellets is in system.
You Can go slowly add -NP Pro. When Your nutrients will be low - You can turn off biopellets. Our clients in Poland changing methode from biopellets to Probiotic Aquaforest just use -NP Pro and when pellets run out they just don't adding more pellets.

Aquaforest

DamonG
05/03/2016, 07:33 AM
I copied this from another thread here on RC...
Thanks for the response.. Lol well check it out when that time comes.. I've got probably another year before my pellets are gone.. And more than likely,I am going to stick with my pellets..

I simply wondered about the additional phosphate reduction potential..

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Myka
05/05/2016, 06:50 AM
DamonG, all nitrate reducing bacteria systems will also reduce phosphate. That's not special. The problem is that much more nitrate is reduced than phosphate, so we usually get a slow rise in phosphate. That's why Aquaforest (and most other systems) recommend using GFO too. Some systems, like Zeovit don't want you to use GFO, but most users end up having to use it anyway.

DamonG
05/05/2016, 04:07 PM
DamonG, all nitrate reducing bacteria systems will also reduce phosphate. That's not special. The problem is that much more nitrate is reduced than phosphate, so we usually get a slow rise in phosphate. That's why Aquaforest (and most other systems) recommend using GFO too. Some systems, like Zeovit don't want you to use GFO, but most users end up having to use it anyway.
Thank you, and yes,I agree that all di reduce phosphate also. I was wondering if there was something in the bioS that reduces it more.. But I'm guiding at this point that and the responses, that it must be the normal amount of phosphate reduction, and I will more than likely continue utilizing gfo..

Sent from my SM-N920F using Tapatalk

GarrettC
09/21/2016, 07:40 PM
question i dose pro bio s and i run bio pellets do i still need pro bio f

plyle02
09/22/2016, 02:50 PM
No,
Your bio pellets and Pro Bio S are really only needed. Pro Bio F is an AIO carbon source system, really designed for nano reefers. I would discontinue it's use.