PDA

View Full Version : Gorgonian with many bristle stars

jjbunn
05/09/2016, 07:59 PM
The gorgonian (called a "sea fan" by the LFS) has deep red stalks and yellow polyps. After acclimating it and placing it in the tank, I noticed that each branch has at least two bristle stars clinging to it - some are red, but most are yellow. When the polyps of the coral are extended, the bristle stars are hard to make out.

I'd like to know what the bristle stars are doing there, and whether they pose a problem. Also, I'm assuming this is a non photosynthetic coral and thus requires some special treatment/feeding - what is recommended, and does this particular coral have a name?

Here is a poor photo of the coral with polyps partially open, where you can perhaps see some of the bristle stars.

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7014/26630821360_c34ace4826_b.jpg

Thanks!

Devaji108
05/10/2016, 02:16 PM
I am by no means an expert but gorgs. are quickly becoming one of my favs.
that looks like a yellow sea feather or whip. both are photosynthetic but do benefit from feeding.

disclaimer I could be totally off here. I am sure other with far greater knowledge will chime in.
good luck its a beauty!

nathan1986
05/10/2016, 08:59 PM
Those yellow mini brittle stars look awesome! I only have the red kind of mini brittles. As far as the red ones go they are harmless, beneficial little scavengers. Mine multilpy quickly. Going to have to look up the yellow ones now!

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk

jjbunn
05/10/2016, 10:44 PM
Those yellow mini brittle stars look awesome! I only have the red kind of mini brittles. As far as the red ones go they are harmless, beneficial little scavengers. Mine multilpy quickly. Going to have to look up the yellow ones now!

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk

They are exceedingly cute! I'm hoping a few migrate off the coral and into the rest of the tank :bounce2:

mark54321
05/11/2016, 07:07 AM