PDA

View Full Version : New tank help please


Jon532
06/04/2016, 05:35 PM
I'm not so sure this is an Aquaforest question however I am using the Aquaforest products so I'll post here.
I started a new 120G tank using the AF Probiotic salt. I dosed the recommended Bio S for the first 14 days and then started the Pro bio S along with -NP Pro. I'm using AF carbon and Phosphate Minus on the tank as well.
The problem I'm having is my ammonia levels will NOT go below .25 ppm both Nitrite and Nitrate are at 0. What am I doing wrong? I'm wondering with Nitrate and Nitrite at 0 and ammonia being present in the tank has the cycle even began? Do I have any bacteria at all?... Any help is greatly appreciated.

plyle02
06/05/2016, 06:49 AM
Hello,
If nitrite and nitrate are both zero, perhaps you can try another test kit, this seems odd. Usually if there is nitrite present, there is ammonia present, and the opposite too. Is the rock live or dead. If dead, it could take some time to get the biological process going. If the rock was live, and/or using live sand, then the process will be quicker. Continue the course, maybe add some hermits and see how they do. You could then feed them a bit of frozen food, this will get some life going. Also, are you currently running your skimmer? If not, I would get that in operation asap. Please give some additional details of your system. Thanks :)

Jon532
06/05/2016, 07:04 AM
Thanks for the reply Perry.. I do have my skimmer on but I am having trouble getting it tuned in... It will skim good for a few days then go off track. (Skimz SM 161)
My rock was dry rock but I used 60 pounds of Ocean Direct Live sand. I have two Clowns in the tank.. (After the three weeks everything was at 0 so thought I was good) The fish have been in the tank for two weeks and seem to be doing fine. They have grown and are eating very good. (Frozen Shrimp)

plyle02
06/06/2016, 05:33 AM
I think it is safe to put the Bio S on the shelf and use every so often with livestock additions and water changes. My tank was a conversion, so I never really used nor had a need for Bio S. At this point, continue to use Pro Bio S and NP Pro to maintain low nutrients, start at 1/2 dose. As you add livestock, you can begin to increase to full dose, of course observe and test. Cheers :)

Jon532
06/08/2016, 11:43 AM
Perry I read on your thread that you use all three media in one reactor. What reactor do you use. A reactor will be my next purchase and Id love to get by with only one

plyle02
06/08/2016, 05:28 PM
Hello,
Yes I use all in one at this point, and I decided to use my vertex 1.5L zeolite reactor for this purpose. I do like how easy the exchange is with this reactor. It flows perfectly from the bottom to the top, and so far the all 3 medias exchanged at once has shown no ill effects. I do ramp it down for a couple of days, then set the valve so that my top media(phos minus) tumbles nicely, but not to escape the reactor. The order used is Zeomix, AF Carbon, Phos Minus. It is possible to do this differently with separate reactors, I just find that the system is gentle enough to handle these exchanges at once, which is much easier to remember, lol.... Cheers!