PDA

View Full Version : what ato

wake2life
06/06/2016, 01:19 PM
what ato do you guys recommend....we plan on a 32 gallon trash can full of ro/di water. we are evaporating around a gallon a day...my parents and the reef store guy here in town recommend the Spectra Pure Liter Meter.. what do you guys recommend

C.Eymann
06/06/2016, 01:20 PM
I personally like Tunze's, heard good things about spectrapures too.

oseymour
06/06/2016, 01:28 PM
I've never used the Spectrapure - I've used the Tunze Osmolator for years and it's never failed.

It has 2 different sensors, an optical sensor that has no moving parts that can't get stuck because of salt and a float switch as a backup. It also turns the pump off automatically after 10 minutes.

The replacement pumps are cheap and are about $25.

DivingTheWorld
06/06/2016, 01:35 PM
+1, I also use a Tunze Osmolator. I've been using it for a couple years now with no failures. I keep a backup pump for it, but I've never needed to use it. They're pricey, but worth every penny.

My tank also evaporates about 1 gallon/day. I only have room for a 5g reservoir under my stand, but when I go on vacation I hook up a 32g Brute and it works great. It looks terrible sitting in the middle of our living room though, so vacations only!

CafeReef
06/06/2016, 01:45 PM
I have the Tunze as well, but I honestly have heard very good things about the spectrapure lifter.

I have their RODI maker and the quality definitely is there.

solitude127
06/06/2016, 04:48 PM
what ato do you guys recommend....we plan on a 32 gallon trash can full of ro/di water. we are evaporating around a gallon a day...my parents and the reef store guy here in town recommend the Spectra Pure Liter Meter.. what do you guys recommend

You can't go wrong with the liter meter nor the Tunze. I personally use Avast ATO and like the Liter meter, it has a pressure sensor and has been rock solid for me.

azjohnny
06/06/2016, 08:54 PM