PDA

View Full Version : newbie sump confusion

Red_Fisher23
06/07/2016, 10:46 PM
I'm somewhat new to the hobby, currently running a 33 long tank with 35 pounds of live rock, a frogspawn and a green toadstool leather, I have been researching sumps and how to use them and what not, my tank is not pre drilled so I would have to use a overflow box and I do not currently have a skimmer which would be in the sump, if anyone could help me with simplifying the whole scheme of putting together all the components of having a sump I'd appreciate it! Thanks

Capiross1
06/07/2016, 11:43 PM
You would either have to have a hang on the back overflow or drill your tank and install a over flow box in this case you would have to empty your tank to do so, I have no experience with HOB overflows but if I were you I would either empty it and drill or look into buying a new tank. Basically water will drain from the tank down into the sump and then you would have a return pump in your sump to return water into your tank.

GimpyFin
06/08/2016, 09:54 AM
I've had an overflow box on a small cube tank for a couple years now. They work fairly well. The overflow box will have a bulkhead for your drain hose/piping going to your sump. If you are buying a premade sump, this generally hooks up to an inlet with a filter sock attached. There's also a chamber for your skimmer and a spot to place your return pump which will pump back to the main tank. Eshopps makes decent overflow boxes. I wouldn't recommend getting an oversized one either (Get one sized for your tank.) The bigger ones have larger siphon tubes designed for higher flow rates. If you don't have a higher flow pump to match (Which you won't for a smaller tank) air pockets will build in the siphon tube, potentially causing a siphon break which in turn could cause your tank to overflow.

mcgyvr
06/08/2016, 10:50 AM
Why do you want a sump?
IMO.. HOB overflows scare the crap out of me..