PDA

View Full Version : Connecting two tanks to common sump help


MrClownReef
06/09/2016, 11:39 AM
I have 3 aqua lifter pumps 2 connected to each other give enough push to get water from my sump to my secondary tank but the third pump is just fine pushing water down, but at a higher rate. Now I can't have that happening...

Would a 1/4" valve to adjust the flow work or would that be a bad idea?

Here are the two tanks that are trying to be connected.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160609/25315b5908330c255cfd6e010e9f8b69.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160609/5fcffe1cbab1cbf52775fbcc1d5edb35.jpg

twon8
06/09/2016, 11:57 AM
I don't really understand your question. A diagram might help explain what you are trying to do


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tom obrecht
06/09/2016, 12:19 PM
Yes the picture doesn't show much. Are you trying to run 2 tanks off one sump?

twon8
06/09/2016, 12:48 PM
If you are trying to operate an aqualifter as a drain from tank to sump stop now before you flood your floor


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MrClownReef
06/09/2016, 01:06 PM
Crude diagram

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160609/07827747759d2ce4fab74955aa85b60c.jpg
I have to use 1/4" because it goes under a door...

twon8
06/09/2016, 01:07 PM
Yeah stop that. You need a drain not a pump. You will ever mTch up the two flow rates and this will end up with a flood.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MrClownReef
06/09/2016, 01:10 PM
That's why i got this.

Would this work to match the flow? I haven't run the pumps on the tanks yet.

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160609/753d00db743abfa93c06c6329a397e09.jpg

twon8
06/09/2016, 01:11 PM
I personally would not attempt it but you might be able to get it to work with two high precision peristaltic pumps but certainly not with aqualifters. Too big of a risk of flood IMO


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RWEngineer
06/09/2016, 01:23 PM
That's why i got this.

Would this work to match the flow? I haven't run the pumps on the tanks yet.



You could match flow at that instant but it would change later. It will flood at some point.

MrClownReef
06/09/2016, 01:26 PM
You could match flow at that instant but it would change later. It will flood at some point.
I appreciate the help, that's why I posted before I did something stupid.

But may I ask how it would change?

nuttyd
06/09/2016, 01:43 PM
what happens if power surge and one of the pumps dies. What happens if one of the pumps impeller breaks. What happens if the inlet gets clogged a little bit. All lead to change of flow and eventual flooding.

jayball
06/09/2016, 02:22 PM
what happens if power surge and one of the pumps dies. What happens if one of the pumps impeller breaks. What happens if the inlet gets clogged a little bit. All lead to change of flow and eventual flooding.

This, and it would only take a couple days of sponge growth or a single tube worm to throw off the ratio a little in a 1/4 inch line

C.Eymann
06/09/2016, 02:36 PM
I echo everything said, first thing to get clogged would be that valve, also algea growth in tubes, biofilm etc etc you will be constantly adjusting and it will, flood, not a question of "if" its a question of when those are some nice wood floors you have there, do not do this.
Get an overflow or drill the tank.

jjvanb
06/09/2016, 05:08 PM
Both tanks need to overflow and drain by gravity to the common sump. whether you use a drilled "reef ready" tank or a HOB overflow. Then each tank will need a water line from the pump for input. Which could be done with two smaller pumps or one larger one.

Ron Reefman
06/10/2016, 06:23 AM
both tanks need to overflow and drain by gravity to the common sump. Whether you use a drilled "reef ready" tank or a hob overflow. Then each tank will need a water line from the pump for input. Which could be done with two smaller pumps or one larger one.

+1

I have 2 systems and each is made up of 2 DT and a single sump. 180g reef & 75g gorgonian tank & 180g (8'x2'x18") sump and the other is a 60g shallow reef & 25g frag tank & 120g sump. They both work just fine and I never have any issues with overflow. The DT are either drilled, have syphon overflows or both. And the syphon over flows have aqua lifter pumps to keep them running. But not JUST aqua lifters... that's asking for a flood!

C.Eymann
06/10/2016, 06:41 AM
Both tanks need to overflow and drain by gravity to the common sump. whether you use a drilled "reef ready" tank or a HOB overflow. Then each tank will need a water line from the pump for input. Which could be done with two smaller pumps or one larger one.

+1 as well, probably better to go with one larger one rather than two smaller ones if heat is something you are concerned about when it comes to submersible pumps. Depending on wattage and type of pump A/C - D/C