PDA

View Full Version : Dragon's breathe suggestions

KrazieKiKi
07/12/2016, 10:45 AM
I've had dragons breathe for quite some time and at first it grew like crazy. Now it's lost some of the orange tips (I had to cut lights to get rid of some algae in the sea horses) but I'm new to dosing tanks and was looking for suggestions on what other people dose into macro tanks. I've been adding iodide every other day.

60 gallon cube tank - 10 gal refug - 5gal ATO.

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160712/41866c83c0bd6ce546b658d5c37792d4.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Harth23
07/12/2016, 08:18 PM
I see you got your blues way up and this is great! That really gets there tips going. How low are your nitrate and phosphate doing? Because go to low and they get a little funky

KrazieKiKi
07/12/2016, 09:03 PM
My tank naturally runs higher in nitrates (sea horses are a messy bunch) usually around 30ppm. Phosphates aren't too high since I use RO water and do TRY TO do weekly- biweekly water changes at the latest.

KrazieKiKi
07/12/2016, 09:05 PM
I have since that picture removed the gracilaria algae - it grew WAY too fast in my tank and I think it was contributing to my DB dying off. I started the iodide about two weeks ago and I've noticed the tips are starting to lighten up again!!!

Michael Hoaster
07/19/2016, 05:10 PM
Cool tank shot! I used to have a 60 cube and loved it! Tell us about the chains!

Be careful with iodide. It is easily overdosed. I don't have dragon's breath so I have no idea if this'll help, but I've seen great results in red macro growth, dosing iron. Macros can suck it up, and then it becomes the limiting nutrient.

Subsea
07/20/2016, 05:34 AM
For many macro, iron is often the limiting nutrient. I have read articles by Randy Holmes Farley about an iron storage mechanism during times of excess iron, that is used during lean times. The more I learn, the more I realize how perfect Nature is.