PDA

View Full Version : Deluxe 250 pump swap?


yifan917
07/17/2016, 12:37 AM
Hi, just wondering how come RE switched pumped on the deluxe 250 skimmer?
Used to be 50W DC pump and now switched to 60W DC pump with 2500 L/H flow rate.

Is it because the 50W version (rated 2000 L/H) wasn't enough for the deluxe 250? Thank you.

slief
07/17/2016, 09:07 AM
Hi, just wondering how come RE switched pumped on the deluxe 250 skimmer?
Used to be 50W DC pump and now switched to 60W DC pump with 2500 L/H flow rate.

Is it because the 50W version (rated 2000 L/H) wasn't enough for the deluxe 250? Thank you.

They did that on all the larger (250+ sized) Deluxe and Supermarin skimmers. The 50 watt is sufficient and I wouldn't run the 50 watt let alone 60 watt at full power on that skimmer anyway. A string of between 38 and 45 watts on the Deluxe 250 is really where you would want to be unless the sump level is really low. It was done to keep the bill of materials more common between those skimmers.

yifan917
01/01/2017, 04:12 AM
They did that on all the larger (250+ sized) Deluxe and Supermarin skimmers. The 50 watt is sufficient and I wouldn't run the 50 watt let alone 60 watt at full power on that skimmer anyway. A string of between 38 and 45 watts on the Deluxe 250 is really where you would want to be unless the sump level is really low. It was done to keep the bill of materials more common between those skimmers.

So can I use the 50W version to run my deluxe 300 then? Thanks again.

slief
01/01/2017, 08:44 AM
So can I use the 50W version to run my deluxe 300 then? Thanks again.

The Deluxe 300 uses the RD3 60 2500/lh pump which is what you would want if you decide to upgrade.