PDA

View Full Version : Macro advice for display fuge

collegereefs
07/29/2016, 09:58 AM
I'm in the process of plumbing a 20H to my system. I'd like to use it as a display fuge. I've built a rock wall and it has ~2.5 sand bed. The rock wall will be the only "structure" in the tank so the sand bed is open space. I'm trying to put together an order GCE.

I would like to have C. Prolifera and C. Paspaloides growing on the sand. I'd like establish various colors of macros on the rock wall along with xenia.

Order:
C. Prolifera
C. Paspaloides
Red sampler
Hypnea Pannosa (rock wall)
Chondria (rock wall)

I'm new to macros and looking for advice or comments.

jraker
07/29/2016, 10:57 AM
You list sounds pretty good. I actually just received my order from GCE yesterday, and I have no bad things to say about them. They are a great place to order from.

I got the Caulerpa sampler, and I got multiple Caulerpa Prolifera and Caulerpa Paspaloides plants. You might just want to get the sampler if you want both those species, and maybe some others.

One thing to be aware of is how much they ship. They send some of their plants in pints, which are pretty big. I ordered the Caulerpa, Red, and Halimeda sampler, which filled up my 65 gallon. I can see your 20 high easily getting filled up if you don't limit how much you order

The red sampler has a pretty good diversity of plants, I got around 3-4 species. But again, it is pretty big. Because of your size tank, I would personally just order some individual reds. They sell the reds in smaller sizes, like 3"-4" pieces, instead of huge pints.

Subsea
07/30/2016, 09:23 AM
Consider this link to see a macro display nano tank.

http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/365034-yoshiis-37g-aio-mini-macro-reef-new-fts-upgrade-incoming/

Subsea
07/30/2016, 09:32 AM
http://marineplantbook.com/

Without a doubt, for reefkeepers that are not scientist, this is written for you.

https://www.reefcleaners.org/stocking-the-sump-refugium

collegereefs