PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advise 20G Nano fish only

nirtza79
08/02/2016, 10:42 AM
Hi all,

I am looking for some advise on fish stocking.
I want to start a 20G Fish only (maybe some LR also), I am a marine biologist with 12 years experience so I know my water but I don't know much about marine ornamental fish, what I would like is as I had said 20G fish only, I like small colorful fish and as many as one could possibly put in a 20G tank.
Any and all advise are very much appreciated!!

journeyman
08/02/2016, 10:58 AM
Shrimp gobies are awesome. I like the yasha goby for color. I also like to pair it with a candy cane pistol shrimp. They will dig, so make sure your rockscape is really stable. Also, for pistol shrimp, I prefer the candy cane over the tiger, because the tiger will dig too much.

Small blennies are good too. Barnacle blennies stay really small, but like to hide. They can be fun to watch.

Clown fish can also fit in a 20, but stick to the percula or ocellaris, maroons are too aggressive and get too big. Pygmy and other small wrasses also can fit in a 20g. Small hawkfish can fit as well, since they mostly perch, but they'll eat your inverts.

Beyond that you are really pushing the limits. Plus for water quality and aggression issues, you probably don't want more than three fish max. When you pick your fish I recommend going from smallest to largest.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

nirtza79
08/02/2016, 11:05 AM
3 fish??

Is there really such a HUGE difference between fresh and saltwater??
In fresh water 20G i can probably put at least 20 fish.

journeyman
08/02/2016, 11:10 AM