PDA

View Full Version : Recovering a dead tank after ich.

k20001
08/05/2016, 12:13 PM
I have been running 1200L system for the last 6 months ,
Last week I lost most of my fishes due to ich outbreak after introduction of new blue powder to the DT without quarantine.

I have reasons to believe that the ich was already in the tank before.

My question is related to the recovery procedure .
I have some lack of information regarding the ability of CUC to carry the ich ,
Should I remove the remaining fish, shrimps from the tank ?
Should I threat the rock/sand/pumps/or other equipment ?

Your help will be appriciated

nereefpat
08/05/2016, 12:56 PM
You will have to remove all fish from the display, then let the tank run fishless (fallow) for a period of time. I've seen as long as 12 weeks suggested. Ich will die out in this time without a fish host.

All invertebrates, rock, sand, and equipment can be left in the tank.

Sk8r
08/05/2016, 01:28 PM
No fishes for 72 to 80 days. Corals, inverts are all ok. The ich parasite needs to feed on a fish. Without fish, it starves and cannot reproduce. Use the fallow time to improve your reef...but remember to dip your corals. THey have their own pests.

k20001
08/05/2016, 02:03 PM
Thank you

k20001
08/13/2016, 09:36 AM
Cant get my last fish from the DT.

Tried the traps , the nets , nylon bags without success .

I guess i cant start counting those 80 days until i will get him out (even though i cant see any sign of ich on it). Right ?

Sk8r
08/13/2016, 04:06 PM
Drain the tank down (dig hole in front left corner [if you're right-handed]) Fish will go to last deep water, net fish, re-water tank pdq.

If you have one of those rock-hiding fish, not always successful, but this procedure can even catch an eel. Trick is rapid drain/rewater. And it won't hurt corals.

Tanthaitrung
08/14/2016, 03:53 AM
Catching him at midnight also helps but not always

Subsea
08/14/2016, 06:11 AM
I have been running 1200L system for the last 6 months ,