PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum and looking for some help with coral colors.

malinois
08/06/2016, 10:04 AM
So I am relatively new to the hobby and new to the forum. I have a 200 gallon reef tank that has been doing well for the past 6 to 7 months. Recently my levels of both nitrates and phosphates have dropped dramatically. My nitrates are undetectable and my phosphates are reading .08. My corals are starting to lose a lot of color. In the last week or two I have started dozing Red Sea's reef energy. I have seen a slight, so slight it might just be me, change and in color.

I have been running biopellets and skimming heavy from the get go. The tank is roughly 1.5 years old. My lighting is all LEDs, which served well on my old 100 gallon mixed reef. The old tank was mostly softies and the new tank is quickly heading in the direction of SPS, that is if I can get the colors of course.

I've been going through the form as well as all over the Internet. I'm finding there's way too much information out there for my little brain to handle. I would like to look at ways to get more color to the corals and I am not sure of what direction to head. I was looking at dosing nitrates, amino acids and some trace elements.

Any and all advise would be appreciated.

Jon

fishchef
08/06/2016, 10:49 AM
General rule of thumb is not to dose what you can't test for. I traded in some SPS to my local LFS. They had great color under my T-5's, but not so great under their LED's. It does point to the importance of Lighting.

vhuang168
08/06/2016, 11:01 AM
Lighting is important but the whether the type of lighting is really the cause is still up for debate.

Case in point,

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160806/29de4392e0fb9a86b540d0d2f6fdeaf8.jpg

Came from an established tank running MH. Introduced to my tank 7/14

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160806/0f39ff57006e658b2638c896065f8c20.png

Frag as it was a few days ago. I'm using AP700 LEDs.