PDA

View Full Version : Questions about which road to take..


shocker444
08/09/2016, 08:15 PM
So my new tank just arrived from A.G.E its flawless. Im on the fence with what to do about my other tank from DAS. The A.G.E is 10' x 4' x 4' = 1200 gallons. The DAS is 8' x 4' x 42'' = 800. I was going to sell it but now I'm thinking i mite keep it. Long story short should i use the 800 for an eel tank and tie it into the 1200 filtration. Ive always wanted a large green moray eel but its up in the air.

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn9/shocker4444/IMG_0580_zpsjonq7cff.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn9/shocker4444/IMG_0582_zps8qhwnasv.jpg

Psirex
08/09/2016, 08:16 PM
Cute mermaid

posted using 1s and 0s

shocker444
08/09/2016, 08:19 PM
She is my little photo bomber

ramasule
08/09/2016, 09:27 PM
Nice Pool

locito277
08/09/2016, 09:34 PM
What kind of lighting will you use for your deep tank? I have a 4 ft deep tank as well and am going with 8 Radion 30 pro. Love the mermaid btw :-)

shocker444
08/09/2016, 09:42 PM
What kind of lighting will you use for your deep tank? I have a 4 ft deep tank as well and am going with 8 Radion 30 pro. Love the mermaid btw :-)

Im going with radion pro 8 to start then about 6 more just can't get them all at once 700 a pop

dave.m
08/09/2016, 10:38 PM
I was going to sell it but now I'm thinking i mite keep it.
Sorry, I just can't take this seriously. Surely you will keep both.

Dave.M

Mebeknob
08/09/2016, 11:21 PM
Have a 800 gallon display sump lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

locito277
08/10/2016, 06:41 AM
They are coming out with G4 which supposedly will have dofferent lenses which will spread the light better


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

L8Braker
08/10/2016, 07:00 AM
Having both will greatly increase your ATO water, water changes, salt etc.... if thats not a problem then yeah keep both! You can have lots of predators in that tank. Some small catsharks would do well in there too.

GSMclowns
08/10/2016, 09:52 AM
That is a good problem to have. Keep both.

cleanmyaquarium
08/10/2016, 11:57 AM
how thick is the glass on the new tank? how thick on the old tank?

not sure what you plan to put in the 1200, but a large green moray and whatever else goes in there will produce a lot of waste and if the new tank is a reef you might be constantly battling nutrient problems.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

cleanmyaquarium
08/10/2016, 12:00 PM
if you can I would keep them both, maybe just on different systems. for h2o changes you can drain old tank water, add new tanks reef water to old tank and fill new tank with new water so you are only really doing one water change

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Psirex
08/10/2016, 12:23 PM
Just think - 2k gallons to maintain..... If you're up to go for it!

posted using 1s and 0s

saf1
08/10/2016, 02:31 PM
Sorry, I just can't take this seriously. Surely you will keep both.

Dave.M

Lol.

Fish doctor
08/11/2016, 09:57 PM
This should be a great build to follow.

shocker444
08/12/2016, 04:32 PM
how thick is the glass on the new tank? how thick on the old tank?

not sure what you plan to put in the 1200, but a large green moray and whatever else goes in there will produce a lot of waste and if the new tank is a reef you might be constantly battling nutrient problems.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk


Thats what i was thinking. The 1200 is going to be mixed reef.

shocker444
08/12/2016, 04:35 PM
if you can I would keep them both, maybe just on different systems. for h2o changes you can drain old tank water, add new tanks reef water to old tank and fill new tank with new water so you are only really doing one water change

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Separating them is not an option i don't want to get two of everything.

m0nkie
08/12/2016, 05:13 PM
wow I would love to worry about this type of questions! lol... keep both!

how do you reach anything in a 4ft deep tank

shocker444
08/12/2016, 05:28 PM
wow I would love to worry about this type of questions! lol... keep both!

how do you reach anything in a 4ft deep tank

Not sure maybe teach my kids to scuba dive lol.

saf1
08/12/2016, 05:32 PM
Not sure maybe teach my kids to scuba dive lol.

On a more serious note, kids and scuba is actually a great thing :) My daughter loved it.

wilder
08/13/2016, 08:56 PM
Love the new tank size. Looking forward to how you connect the two tanks and stock them. 2000 gallons is a dream!

TheFishGuy31
08/14/2016, 07:04 AM
Separating them is not an option i don't want to get two of everything.


Would you need two of everything if one of them is a predator tank?

I'd use a stock tank as a sump for the predator tank and set it next to the reef tanks sump. Use old reef water for water changes on the predator tank.

I'd be afraid of nutrient issues with the two plumbed together.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cleanmyaquarium
08/14/2016, 09:46 AM
Would you need two of everything if one of them is a predator tank?

I'd use a stock tank as a sump for the predator tank and set it next to the reef tanks sump. Use old reef water for water changes on the predator tank.

I'd be afraid of nutrient issues with the two plumbed together.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
i don't think you need 2 of everything. a large bio ball system is all you need for the predator tank. add a skimmer down the road. h20 change is new water to reef, reef water to predator, predator to drain.

you never answered how thick is the glass on those tanks? how much do they weigh? and how do you move them?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

shocker444
08/14/2016, 01:07 PM
Would you need two of everything if one of them is a predator tank?

I'd use a stock tank as a sump for the predator tank and set it next to the reef tanks sump. Use old reef water for water changes on the predator tank.

I'd be afraid of nutrient issues with the two plumbed together.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I could go with a stock tank but then i would need another skimmer another pump, heaters. All that extra equipment requires maintenance and x2 because of two separate vary large systems.

shocker444
08/14/2016, 01:15 PM
i don't think you need 2 of everything. a large bio ball system is all you need for the predator tank. add a skimmer down the road. h20 change is new water to reef, reef water to predator, predator to drain.

you never answered how thick is the glass on those tanks? how much do they weigh? and how do you move them?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Bio balls is not the direction i am willing to go. The main problem is i travel a lot so I'm going to run auto water change system so trying to do two separate systems mite be to much on my wife to fix if there is a problem and I'm not home. As far as moving the tank just man power. I moved the 1,700 lb 800 with six guys then for long moves i use a bob cat. I own a construction company so its easy for me. The 1200 is 2,400 lb thats what A.G.E said.

cleanmyaquarium
08/14/2016, 09:07 PM
how thick is the glass on each?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

McPuff
08/16/2016, 09:06 AM
Oh my! I have to follow this one. TWO builds in one. :0)

anbosu
08/19/2016, 09:14 AM
Bio balls is not the direction i am willing to go. The main problem is i travel a lot so I'm going to run auto water change system so trying to do two separate systems mite be to much on my wife to fix if there is a problem and I'm not home. As far as moving the tank just man power. I moved the 1,700 lb 800 with six guys then for long moves i use a bob cat. I own a construction company so its easy for me. The 1200 is 2,400 lb thats what A.G.E said.

I don't think having a green moray tied into your reef system would be a good idea, at least in the long run. You could easily set it up as a FOWLR with a lot of cool fish and tie it in, I just wouldn't do it with a massive predator like that.

shocker444
08/19/2016, 11:13 AM
I don't think having a green moray tied into your reef system would be a good idea, at least in the long run. You could easily set it up as a FOWLR with a lot of cool fish and tie it in, I just wouldn't do it with a massive predator like that.

I can't imagine that he would have a negative affect on my system. My sump is almost 600 gallons with 300 of it dedicated to macro algae. plus I'm running a super reef octopus 9,000 which is a monster.

dave.m
08/19/2016, 03:48 PM
Eels can be pretty messy eaters. What sort of clean-up crew could you use in his/her tank that wouldn't get eaten?

Dave.M

shocker444
08/26/2016, 10:18 PM
Eels can be pretty messy eaters. What sort of clean-up crew could you use in his/her tank that wouldn't get eaten?

Dave.M

Thats a good question. I've never had and eel so I'm not sure to be honest.