PDA

View Full Version : Noob: LED lighting question

Loadedgunz
08/15/2016, 09:43 PM
Hello guys,
I'm just getting into the reefing hobby, but I wanna make sure I'm fully prepared before diving into it. As I'm researching about all aspects of reefing, I seem to understand everything I dig into, except for lighting. I understand that there are compact fluorescent, Metal Halides, and LED's as options for lighting. And I also understand that LED's seem to be the most popular option these days. However, what I don't understand, and what my elongated question is: why are LED's more commonly used as hybrids with T5? If they're such amazing lights that can pretty much mimic and distribute any color in the light spectrum, why use additional lights? What can you NOT grow with them alone?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Entacmaea
08/15/2016, 10:11 PM