PDA

View Full Version : Digital & Analog Inputs - (PLM-ADIN)


08/16/2016, 05:20 PM
Let's talk about Analog & Digital Inputs.
What are they, and what can you do with them?

First things first - the name of the card.
Analog
Digital
INput

This topic comes up from time to time, looking to implement an extra Float switch, a relay, a manual switch or button to trigger actions etc.

This is where the PLM-ADIN ad-on card comes in handy. Looks daunting? It's not. It's actually simple as Pie - let me show you.

When you order the Add-In card, the following will arrive.
https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/usa/wp-content/uploads/sites/5/2016/04/PLM-ADIN-595x595.jpg

You ask how do you connect that to your fancy gadgets? Well you probably have a bare wire. There are a few options, the one I personally prefer...
Amazon - DB9 Terminal Adapter - $6.99 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00Z3QYUQ6/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_PINSxbZQ1CNCM)

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/41LaF46fUQL.jpg

Now you have a terminal block to connect your sensor/switch wires. Simple.


Last night I automated my cabinet lights.
https://youtu.be/2Y0ouSSVjTg


I grabbed a set of Magnetic contact switches:
https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/41V6yRDdPrL.jpg

Alarm contact switches - $15 for a set of 10 (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LYCUSBY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_tHNSxb0CPJXP3)

For the left 2 doors, I used one each, and wired them in series. For the right Door, I used a single.

Here is a wiring diagram. (not mine)
http://i903.photobucket.com/albums/ac233/ProgressiveReef/plm-admin.gif

I ran both circuits of magnetic contacts to the common GND terminal, pin/post #8
Circuit 1, I ran to DIGITAL INPUT #1 - Pin/Post #2
Circuit 2, I ran to DIGITAL INPUT #2 - Pin/Post #3


I'll follow up with the GCC setup tonight..

11/12/2016, 09:06 AM
Let's place a float switch in our skimmer cup, and have it turn off the skimmer when float switch is UP.

<image placeholder - SKIMMER>


In my example, I still use the same DB9 connector setup as shown above for simple pinout terminal.

I picked up a slim, low profile float switch from Madison; model M3326: LINK: Here - amazon (https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0090916TQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51PXYm1GklL._AC_UL160_SR160,160_.jpg

I also purchased a 6-ft. mono 1/8 mini plug to mono 1/8 mini jack shielded cable from Radio Shack as an extension w/ Quick Disconnect for the float. LINK: Here - Radio Shack (https://www.radioshack.com/products/6-ft-plug-jack-shielded-cable?utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=googlepla&variant=20331852037)

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1490/5112/products/04202472_00_f1860641-b429-4af0-b21a-8daf9784f0fa_160x160_crop_center.progressive.jpg

I cut the cable about 8" from the plug side, stripped and soldered the wires. Since we recently moved, I couldn't locate all of my supplies, so white liquid electrical tape had to to, one of these days I'll re-splice and clean it up with heatshrink.

I wired the Float Switch to the common GND terminal, pin/post #8
And to DIGITAL INPUT #3 - Pin/Post #4


Programming:
1. Enter GCC, and enable Digital Input #3 (or whichever you place it on)

http://content.screencast.com/users/marco_p/folders/Snagit/media/01a51e05-bcb0-43a6-952a-d8bc13d2869a/11.12.2016-09.52.png

2. Define a program.
a. In my case, I delay my skimmer return on feed cycle, and some other items, as such we're going to use Programmable Logic to join a couple of statements. Pretty simple.

Programmable Logic Manual: https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/download/get/file/Programmable-Logic-Instructions.pdf

http://content.screencast.com/users/marco_p/folders/Snagit/media/bb9b9447-61c6-4a0d-b925-071c0dc38f02/11.12.2016-09.57.png

Here we are going to say in G7 - If G4 AND DI3 then enable the outlet
The AND-function needs 2 inputs. The output is only ON if both inputs are ON

3. Assign the program to the outlet.
Select Programmable Logic #(in my case 7 - for G7 used.)
http://content.screencast.com/users/marco_p/folders/Snagit/media/f23b5921-379f-4f24-9d56-76596ffde206/11.12.2016-10.04.png


Let me know if you have any questions - be glad to answer or help you out with your specific setup.

11/12/2016, 09:10 AM
It appears that I cannot edit the above post to add a picture.
So here is picture of float switch installed in my Royal Exclusiv Bubble King Double Cone 180

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161112/7c704b495d02ba7685411659c40d5656.jpg

11/23/2016, 10:24 PM
Had a few folks ask - Yes, you can use this for momentary or flip switches to manually enable feed cycles, start programs etc. Possibilities are endless.

If you have found a useful or just fun use case, feel free to share.

slief
11/30/2016, 10:50 PM
Great write up Marco! :beer:

12/10/2016, 05:40 PM
I'm glad I added the floatswitch ... came home to a full cup the other day, after having been out of town for a couple of days.

jonwright
12/11/2016, 05:31 PM
Stuff like this is very useful, Marco, and helps us figure out how to make the best of a great system. Thanks!

I know Plux is powerful, it's a matter of figuring how to use what we have.

12/12/2016, 08:45 AM
Stuff like this is very useful, Marco, and helps us figure out how to make the best of a great system. Thanks!

I know Plux is powerful, it's a matter of figuring how to use what we have.

Absolutely - and if you have any questions, or curious about a particular item, please don't hesitate to post up. I'd be glad to do a few more of these..

vega77
04/14/2017, 01:26 PM
The two analog inputs, are they 0-10v ?