PDA

View Full Version : UHE Problem


Pseudo69
08/21/2016, 04:11 AM
I moved my UHE to a new location. Now it doesn't stop the flow of input water from going through the unit even when the float switches turn it off. I am thinking either the solenoid isn't stopping the water flow or the control module is bad.

Only thing that I did do wrong was connect the 24VDC to the input pressure switch then realized the mistake. Would that cause this problem? DO I need to send in the whole unit again and what would be turn around time?

Thanks,

Kasei

SpectraPure
08/22/2016, 10:37 AM
The most common reason for your situation is that the unit has not been installed higher than the storage tank.

If the power supply still works and the LED on the control module still blinks, then you probably didn't hurt anything.

Support at SpectraPure

SpectraPure
08/22/2016, 10:39 AM
Sorry, I was responding to a different post.

Unplug the power supply. Does that shut the water off?

Support at SpectraPure

Pseudo69
08/22/2016, 10:55 AM
No. It still produces water but at only faucet pressure.

SpectraPure
08/22/2016, 11:00 AM
OK. Then it is the solenoid and not the control module.

Unplug the solenoid and carefully unscrew it from the grey block it is screwed into.

A spring and plunger may fall out so be on the lookout for them. Inspect the various parts for dirt or some kind of tear or aberration of the rubber parts. Wipe the parts down and re-install. Let me know if that fixes it.

Pseudo69
08/22/2016, 11:08 AM
Which solenoid? 1 or 2?

SpectraPure
08/22/2016, 11:12 AM
The left one, the one that has NO yellow lines connected to it (that's the Flush Valve).

Pseudo69
08/22/2016, 11:41 AM
No change. Before the unit was level with the containers and now it is above it. Could that be the problem? I thought the solenoid was supposed to shut it off completely?

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/ll220/Brugal_photos/Multiple%20Reef%20tanks/Reef%20Equipment/20160822_133931_zpszsbmkijg.jpg (http://s289.photobucket.com/user/Brugal_photos/media/Multiple%20Reef%20tanks/Reef%20Equipment/20160822_133931_zpszsbmkijg.jpg.html)

Pseudo69
08/22/2016, 11:51 AM
I just swapped out the solenoid for another good one and the same problem exists.

SpectraPure
08/22/2016, 12:00 PM
That's strange. It is only that solenoid that lets water into the system.

Without power, no water should flow.

Maybe there's a defect in the threads of the grey block?

Support

Pseudo69
08/22/2016, 12:14 PM
Questions.

I just took another look at my hookup. I just saw that I had tee'd off of the supply line (faucet feed) to the flush line by mistake. I disconnected it to see if the water was flowing through the flush line and it was. No more water pressure of flow without the flush line connected.

Now that the line is directly connected to the ATO container 6 feet below the UHE, will it be able to draw water up for the flush? Even though the line was incorrectly hooked up, water should not have been able to go through the solenoid correct? The unit used to be almost level with the ATO before.

SpectraPure
08/22/2016, 12:20 PM
The unit will draw the water up 6 feet, no problem.

I don't know what else is wrong now.

Run it and tell me.

Pseudo69
08/22/2016, 12:58 PM
Ok I will test it out today and let you know if anymore problems come up. Thanks for the help

Pseudo69
08/24/2016, 12:51 AM
Ok after testing all of the float switches, cables and solenoids, the unit is not running right. The UHE comes on as soon as it is plugged in even when the low float is not tripped. I manually tripped the HI float switches and the unit only drops the pressure to faucet 30 psi and is still running with the booster pump on. Production water is still being made. Then after 4 or 5 minutes the booster pump goes off like it was in flush mode but doesn't sound like it is, the last stage DI drains completely and the unit continues to drip water into the storage container. If I hit the low float the unit acts correctly and starts producing water like it should but then starts acting as mentioned above.

I have no idea what to do next. I PM'ed you my number. Can you call me so I can get this sorted out. I can send the unit in or we can switch out parts. Either way is good for me.

Thanks

Pseudo69
08/24/2016, 12:20 PM
Thank you so much for all the help. Perfect support!! Answer was the control module was connected wrong.

Thank you :)

SpectraPure
08/26/2016, 03:51 PM
Have a wonderful day!