PDA

View Full Version : Coral Quarantine Tanks? how does everyone do it?


m0nkie
08/22/2016, 07:53 PM
Hi guys. Wondering how everyone keeps their coral QT? I'm setting up a series of QTs in the garage. The fish has a permanent 100gal and several 40gal for TTM.

as for coral, how would you guys keep one? do you keep a permanent tank with no fish? Will they be ok with a fresh tank and DT live rocks? How often are WC needed?

I'm planning on QT corals for at least 30 days.

I have spare equipment to run a permanent coral QT. wondering if it's worth it or just set up as needed

thanks!

jduck
08/23/2016, 06:42 AM
Complete 40g with sump, skimmer and t5

m0nkie
08/23/2016, 08:05 AM
Complete 40g with sump, skimmer and t5

So do you run it all year with some inverts only? How often are wc needed? Thanks

CoralsAddiction
08/24/2016, 11:29 PM
I ran a coral tank once for 3-4 months. No fish. Honestly no special equipment either. Just a regular sumpless tank, lots of LR, heater and two cheap Koralia power heads. Oh, and Kessil A360W. I fed the corals twice a week. Their growth was fantastic. I couldn't believe what I had done with a simple setup.

organism
08/25/2016, 02:16 PM
5 gallon bucket with some live rock, a pump and a heater for me as far as non-SPS. No light, I'm lazy and they don't care. For SPS I don't keep any in my display so I qt them there before they go into the frag tank.

m0nkie
09/20/2016, 03:50 PM
set up the fishless coral QT. right next to the permanent fish QT.

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c252/krzyaznm0nkie/20160920_144026_zps7i4of9me.jpg (http://s29.photobucket.com/user/krzyaznm0nkie/media/20160920_144026_zps7i4of9me.jpg.html)

ohmygod
09/20/2016, 10:00 PM
I bayer deep, then keep them in a spare set up.

WLachnit
09/24/2016, 04:30 PM
I have a permanent setup. It's 75g with just a bit of LR rubble and sump less and no fish. I do water changes weekly and very light feeding. I quarantine for >72d before going into my display.