PDA

View Full Version : Calcium Reactor Setup

Rowdeus
08/24/2016, 09:12 PM
I am new to using a calcium reactor and having a couple issues getting the PH down in the reactor. I have watch videos on youtube.com that have stated I need to get the PH down in the reactor to about 6.8-6.6. I have been trying to use the bubble counter and the suggestions from the videos to start about 60 bubbles a minute. But the lowest I can't get the PH below 7.2 at the lowest. I don't have any leaks so I am hot sure what to do. Should I just disregard the bubble count and just let the controller take care of the CO2? I assume the more I open that up the more pressure I put in the reactor. Will that cause a issue? Need some help on what to do.

Breadman03
08/25/2016, 04:38 AM
How fast is your effluent coming out?

I don't know how your reactor is set up, but I bet you'll find some good info here (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2368618).

Rowdeus
08/25/2016, 11:24 AM
I am doing 30 drip a minute right now. I will check the article out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

C.Eymann
08/25/2016, 01:31 PM
You sure you correctly calibrated your pH probe? Using 4 and 7 not 7 and 10 solutions.

Bpb
08/25/2016, 03:37 PM
You absolutely do not HAVE to get the reactor ph down that low. Media will melt at a much higher ph. It just depends on what your demand is. My reactor ph is holding steady at 7.5 and it's melting the media and keeping my dKH at 7.8-7.9 at all times. Hasn't budged in months. Your goal should be to keep the solenoid from cycling on and off all day and instead to keep the co2 running steady at all times. As your demand increases, reduce the ph of the reactor to dissolve more media.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Vinny Kreyling
08/25/2016, 05:03 PM
http://reef.diesyst.com/
Read this it will answer any & all your questions.

hans24hrs
08/28/2016, 07:34 PM
Vinny kreyling that was a great article, thank you for posting

Vinny Kreyling
08/29/2016, 09:02 AM