PDA

View Full Version : Trying to start a new reef

WhattheHoth
08/25/2016, 05:21 PM
I have no experience with reefs, but have various other fish tanks.

I recently went to a fish store I normally go to, with a very informed salesmen who talks to us about information that I feel only a professor should know.

When we discussed the idea of starting a tank with coral in it he was mentioning lights that were $750 and at the least $400. Later on he mentioned some cheaper variation, but at that point I had dismissed the idea of getting coral because I didn't want to drop $750 or something similar.

After a bit of research we found lighting that is suppose to work for $20, but I'm not too sure why he would only recommend expensive lights and the internet is $20. So I'd like to know what the best type of lights are for developing a reef? I don't want to spend an arm and a leg, but I do want to confirm what I read online was accurate of a company trying to sell some cheap lighting.

Any help would be great.

d2mini
08/25/2016, 07:15 PM
Where are these $20 lights that grow coral?
You can get chinese black box leds on eBay for like $100 without all the bells and whistles of a $750 Radion, but you're not going to be growing any coral worth growing for $20.

Anyway, welcome to the forum. ;)
I suggest you head on over to the Beginners forum and start reading up.
Unfortunately, your LFS typically isn't the best source of information when it comes to reef tanks. Especially when it comes to selling you equipment.

LXXero
08/25/2016, 07:46 PM
there's some chinese box lights in the $160 range that will probably work better than many would give them credit for, however they are usually pretty cheaply made and often lack much customization or programmability. Some of the cheap box lights are modifiable to be controlled by 0-10v, though, which is a cool mod that would give you some notion of remote control using a aquarium controller to ramp them up/down or what not.