PDA

View Full Version : How strong does this stand look?

ZenGuitarGuy
08/31/2016, 09:44 PM
Hey all, not sure if this is the right area for this post, but here goes...
I bought and tank and stand from a friend. 65G. For some reason, I feel like the stand isn't strong enough to hold the weight. The fact that the friend had the tank on the stand for nearly 10 years hasn't removed my doubts about it. I just looks like it was build wrong to me, but I'm no expert. I'm looking for opinions about it...thanks!

http://imgur.com/a/XQqLO

Ron Reefman
09/01/2016, 03:13 AM
I've built my share of stands, and that's not the design that I would use. However, it looks pretty stout to me. I like that the area under the DT doesn't have any vertical support that get in the way of working in the sump. However, it does look like it could wrack (fold up sideways) and I'd add a brace from the top corner at one end to the bottom corner at the other end in the back. Maybe even go both ways and form an 'X' in the back that could be tied together at the crossing point of the 'X'.

BTW, my dad was born and raised in Stratford, Ont. only about 30 miles from you, eh.

uncleof6
09/01/2016, 04:31 AM
Photos can be decpetive, however, without better photos:

The tank sits on the one bys, which are attached to the only vertical support (the outer framing at either end) in shear. As such, I would not even sit on the stand let alone put a tank full of water on it. If what I am seeing is correct, it is absolutely without a doubt UNSAFE... Aquariums require direct vertical support from the bottom of the tank to the floor. At a minimum, depending on length of the tank, this vertical support needs to be at the four corners. It should not be in shear as is the case with this stand design.