PDA

View Full Version : Downsizing thinking of a biocube Need advise from biocube owners

Spencer1973
09/10/2016, 05:36 PM
Hello I have a 5 gallon fluval EVO with corals and clownfish, and a 75 gallon fish only saltwater tank...due to my health I am wanting to take down the 75 gallon and 5 gallon EVO and get one Bio Cube, or something similer I like the look of the cube as it seems it would be easy to acuascape...... What are the pros/cons of the biocube? what brand is best? I am not sure what size yet. I want it large enough to house a pair of clowns and a mandarin goby and corals...... I just cant keep up hauling RODI water for the large tank but want to still keep saltwater.... Any advise from anyone who has these, are they good out of the box, I dont want to have to modify lights etc if possible....any advise would be helpful as I downsize..... Thanks.

JVan82
09/11/2016, 06:46 AM
Well I'm brand new to reefing, I have the LED biocube 32, still going through the cycle at this point. I feel it is good enough with out having to modify anything, for you to be happy with it. Of course simply mods like upgraded pumps, media rank, improve it. Or just remove the stock media basket and run a skimmer and reactor. The jury is still out on the stock lighting, not to sure they'd support SPS corals or not. Just my perspective from someone who's entirely new to the hobby. There are a bunch of builds on here, of the biocube 29, and with minimal mods have some amazing reefs.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Spencer1973
09/11/2016, 11:24 AM
Thanks for your input, hopefully more will give advise and opinions on their experience.... simple is better for me.

fishyj
09/11/2016, 12:26 PM