PDA

View Full Version : Berghia question and aptasia problem

Crash35
09/22/2016, 01:05 PM
Hello all,
I'm new here, but have been stalking for a few years prior to actually registering.

I have a 5' (60" x 18") 120 with a few corals and fish. It's been up for about 18 months (though I'm not exactly new - I had sw many years ago but got out of it for a while).

I have been doing battle with aptasia for about 6 months now. A zoa colony was apparently infected and I didn't see it. I was fairly successful in staying on top of them with my "hunting" at each water change. Since filtration was off and water levels were lower, it was a great time to use Aptasia X . I was successful in keeping up (with only a dozen or so at any given time) until a month ago.

Suddenly, it seemed as if literally overnight, I had an explosion (is this normal?). And when I say explosion - I mean KABOOM. Literally hundreds (my guess is a least 2-400) My bet is one of the little buggers (or more) released into the water column :mad:. Not sure what set them off (may the power outage or when I vacuumed some off of the sand bed) - but whatever it was - it's happened so no use in trying to figure it out at this point.

Anyway, since there are far too many now for trying to kill with chemical application, and they are affecting my zoas and starting to cover my rocks (which are not removable due to corals and being glued into one formation when I started the tank), I was wondering what your thoughts were on Berghia.

Are they fairly easy to maintain? Do they work? I've been having anxiety attacks over this!

I bought a bunch (18 last month when I first spotted all the little babies and knew I was in trouble and 20 med/lg again this month and it was a lot of $$!!) but I am at my wits ends with these things and figured it's worth a try.