PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Zoans

mustafakaiser
09/28/2016, 05:04 AM
Hello All

I am new to reef keeping but have been keeping fish only tanks for more than 10 years.

I would like to know if it is safe to keep Zoan? I have read some crazy stories online. Is it really that bad? I don't plan to eat them nor do I plan to wash any rocks at all.

I am only worried if

1) can i release toxin in the water if the fish trouble them?
2) can the toxin get in to the air?
3) will carbon help remove it?
do you need to wear gloves at all time with the hand in the tank even it is just feeding?

Thanks.

Mark9
09/28/2016, 05:20 AM
If you use common sense, you'll be fine.
Some people like to be over dramatic describing them.

eastlake
09/28/2016, 06:11 AM
not eating them is definitely a good precaution lol! Realistically its good practice to wear gloves any time you handle corals so wear gloves when handling them, if you plan to cut a rock that has them on there make sure you're not cutting through the mat or any of the polyps. If the fish pester them they'll just close up not cause a three mile island situation so you're good there, some angels will even eat them. Carbon will help remove some so if there is a mass toxin release, which would only likely be caused by scrubbing them to smithereens in the tank, water changes and wet skimming would also help. All that being said, not all of them are these super toxic death plumes waiting to explode. Very few of them are. They are mostly a hardy and beautiful addition to the reef tank that can give you every color combination that you could ever dream of.

Ron Reefman
09/29/2016, 04:27 AM