PDA

View Full Version : When will my clownfish eggs hatch?

tyleratl
10/03/2016, 07:53 PM
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie when it comes to breeding clownfish. My clownfish pair just spawned Tuesday afternoon of last week. Today is day #7 if you count the day that the eggs were laid as day #1. The temperature in my display tank runs hot - between 83 and 85 degrees. That's a problem for another post, but I understand that it might actually be good for breeding clownfish.

So, the lights have just gone out on the seventh day. Some of the eggs have dark eyes and maybe 20 or 25% have silver eyes. Will they hatch tonight? Or tomorrow?

CoralsAddiction
10/03/2016, 10:02 PM
So, the lights have just gone out on the seventh day. Some of the eggs have dark eyes and maybe 20 or 25% have silver eyes. Will they hatch tonight? Or tomorrow?

It's tough to predict but 7-10 days seems to be the norm. Are you going to raise them? Your clowns will lay again so there's no need to rush it. Once you get your timing right you won't make a mistake by pulling the clowns early if you are using a separate tank for hatching. In the meantime you can focus on culturing rotifers.

Donivan2009
10/04/2016, 05:22 AM
Once the silver sheen starts to show behind the eyes, your only a day or two away from hatching. This is the time most people usually pull out the eggs and separate them into a hatching tank.

Congratulations on a near successful hatch! It's exciting!

tyleratl
10/04/2016, 07:19 AM
Thanks guys! Yes, I am going to try to raise them. I have rotifers on the way. The owner of my LFS here in Guadalajara is in California now and is going to try to get them imported and to me by tomorrow. Let's hope this works. If it doesn't, I am going to try to feed them baby brine shrimp and see if i can save a few.

They didn't hatch last night. I didn't want them to since not that many of them had silver eyes. So, I left the light on in the room to discourage them a bit.