PDA

View Full Version : How to determine proper dosing amounts?

Capsle
10/05/2016, 10:01 AM
Hey reefers,

So I am reading into dosing for Ca, Alk and Mg. I've been dosing Mg every other day to get it to where I wanted, 1385. Its is steady and stable. For Ca and Alk I have been relying on WC to get parameters back up as my tank hasn't been using a lot. Maybe 10-30 ppm of Ca per 2 weeks and 07 Kh (9.3 down to 8.6 ish).

I've read that is better to dose daily in smaller amounts than less often in bigger amounts. So my question is how do I go about figuring out how much to dose daily.

I'm new to this part of the hobby so any insight or experienced input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

Caps

Sk8r
10/05/2016, 10:13 AM
Don't your elements come with instructions printed on the container? These are given in units per gallon of system water. It's ok to estimate a little less because of the rock and sand, but it's also that that critical a measure.

Capsle
10/05/2016, 10:15 AM
Yes, the chemicals do come with instructions lol.

I meant for the amount of daily dosing. Do I measure my tank everyday for a month so see what the levels drop by and then average it out?

scooter31707
10/05/2016, 11:08 AM
I get my levels where I want them and I measure again in 3 days and subtract the regular number from the 3 day number divided by 3 days.
For example with Ca:

Achieved level: 3 Day Test: Dosing Measurement:
450-420/3=10ml

Hope that helps

ryeguyy84
10/05/2016, 11:11 AM