PDA

View Full Version : Figuring Overflow Gph Capacity

JustAHobbiest
10/07/2016, 03:41 PM
I have a beautiful Oceanic 180g Bowfront. Plan on starting a build thread here in the future. It has been in my basement for about a 18 months. As everyone starts out, I'm kinda new to saltwater and currently in cram mode as far as info. Iv been researching everything Reef related. I can't find anywhere a formula to calculate Gph for overflows I have two overflows in either end of tank. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

Vinny Kreyling
10/08/2016, 05:20 PM
No calculator, too many variables. Sumps should be as big a possible for extra water volume because most run "around" 1/2 full. Overflow can be controlled in a few ways, keep the returns high in the water column & or drill a siphon break in the return line "just" under the water level facing downward.
Drain down is something to be worked out when you 1st start the system.
Fill the tank to the overflow teeth but not draining, the sump should be close to full.
Start the pump & see where the water level drops to in the sump, this is your MAX water level. Slowly remove water from the system until just before the pump starts to suck air. This is your MIN water level. You should run normally in the middle, or slightly above of those 2 marks and you will not overflow the system.

JustAHobbiest
10/09/2016, 07:57 AM
Thanks for the advice was just trying to get ball park idea in what side pump I needed plan on a 40B for sump that big enough?

Vinny Kreyling
10/09/2016, 10:14 AM
I would say marginal, especially if you plan on a tank upstairs with the sump in the basement. I have an 80 gallon sump on a 250 & it runs around the 35 gallon mark.
No basement so it's under the tank.

BlackTip
10/09/2016, 10:52 AM