PDA

View Full Version : Vodka/vinegar (6:1) shelf life?

CaptainDave
10/15/2016, 04:07 PM
I searched and couldn't find the answer to this; if it has been addressed already, I apologize.

I know that diluted vinegar has a short shelf life as the acidity is reduced and bacteria can then utilize the carbon.

I'm just beginning carbon dosing, and after reading I've decided I'll be using a 6 to 1 mixture of vodka and vinegar (it seems this is similar to what's in NOPOX based on some threads I read, and I like the idea of bacterial diversity). My question is this: will a 6:1 mixture of vodka and vinegar have a relatively long shelf life; e.g., long enough to mix up a gallon or so and dose it to a 30g tank?

Apparently the pH of vodka is about 4 (compared to vinegar at about 2.6, according to google), so my hypothesis is that mixing with vodka wouldn't raise the pH enough to allow bacteria to grow in the storage vessel.

Thanks for your reply!

biecacka
10/17/2016, 02:10 PM
So I dose vodka /vinegar and I dose about 6ml of vodka and 20ml of vinegar. I had it up to 9/30. So about 1 pay vodka and 10 part vinegar
I am not sure about premixing it though. I think in the chemistry forum I read it is not a suggested method but let me go back and look..
Corey

CaptainDave
10/17/2016, 02:38 PM
So I dose vodka /vinegar and I dose about 6ml of vodka and 20ml of vinegar. I had it up to 9/30. So about 1 pay vodka and 10 part vinegar
I am not sure about premixing it though. I think in the chemistry forum I read it is not a suggested method but let me go back and look..
Corey

Hmm, did I have the ratio backwards? Should it be 6 parts vinegar to 1 part vodka?

biecacka
10/17/2016, 03:03 PM
I had always seen less vodka (that's the ONLY time LESS vodka is acceptable[emoji38])
I got the ratio from the chemistry forum and it works great for me.

Corey

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

disc1
10/17/2016, 04:29 PM