PDA

View Full Version : Uneducated aquarist needs help!

nicciolib
10/18/2016, 02:18 PM
Hey guys,

So I'm brand new to the saltwater hobby and I sort of jumped into an overwhelming situation. I ran across a steal of a deal for a 55g setup but now I'm driving myself crazy trying to research the hobby and get everything up and running. The whole setup came with about 50 pounds of live rock and a clownfish. The tank has been cycling for 5 days now and the clownfish is now in the tank. Not knowing much about the hobby my efforts were made to get the salinity level up (currently 1.023) so the fish could go in. I thought because the tank was already set up and established for many years that I could just set it back up and go. Now I'm realizing I may have jumped the gun a bit.

First things first here's my setup so far...
-55g display tank with live rock
-4 light T5 fixture
-Sump is about 20g with 3 compartments
Compartment 1:
-Reef Octopus protein skimmer
Compartment 2:
-return pump
Compartment 3:
-powerhead hooked up to a GFO/Carbon reactor
-carbon filled sock (over water inlet)
-just added a thermometer set to 75°f

I'm having trouble getting my ammonia level down (currently around 1.25 ppm) and my pH is a little high too (about 8.6). I've added an airstone and elevated the water return outlet that flows into the tank so it agitates the surface (trying to oxygenate the tank better).
When I set up the tank I didn't think to clean off the rock because my thinking was there would be beneficial bacteria to help with the tank cycling process and I know feel like this is a cause for my ammonia level.

I also have an issue with diatoms. Brown algae is covering about half my sand bed and rock. My LFS recommended I leave my lights off for 3 days straight to resolve that issue. I'm hesitant to do that because the fish being in the tank.