PDA

View Full Version : Storing your fish food

JMorris271
10/19/2016, 09:40 PM
I was all excited about getting my fish tank going with some fish actually swimming around inside. I have fish now, purchased some frozen food for them and put it in the freezer which seems to smell things up and gets lost in the chicken and ice cream.
Where and how do you keep your frozen food ?
Thanks

AboutAcans
10/20/2016, 12:01 AM
I don't use frozen food, it's never worked for me. Freezer burns most the time and doesn't really hang in the water column where I need it to. Most of it just seems to last about a month and then "freezer burn". But chicken legs do the same thing haha

I hate to sound like I'm pitching something but I've been fragging corals for 15 years. Friend or mine got me turned on to Olio Coral Food. I don't even refrigerate it (I think you're supposed to, but meh). Stuff is crazy good though for a full spectrum food. Most the fraggers I know use it, but not many are on the boards. I even use it for my clownfish breeding tank cause I don't know if whoever makes it intended it for it, but it even feeds my fry when my Piccasos breed.

Which by, wait can say this on the board here, another spawning just happened if anyone likes Piccasos.

Sinn Sage
10/20/2016, 04:35 AM
If you have an outdoor outfitters store nearby such as a REI, they sell odor proof plastic bags.

We use them to keep the bears and such from eating our food while we sleep.

O.P.Sak is one brand that you can look for and they come in different sizes.

Ron Reefman
10/20/2016, 05:32 AM
I use lots of frozen food and I keep open packages in ziploc bags in a sealable lid tupperware container. I have no issues with odor or frozen fish food in my ice cream! :lol2:

chrisfont23
10/20/2016, 06:27 AM