PDA

View Full Version : Proper spectrum?

Walla2GSP
10/24/2016, 10:22 PM
So I've been doing a lot of research on proper lighting since my tank crash two years ago and was getting ready to try my hand at building an LED display for the 35 gallon. All the research I had done said to avoid light spectrums above 600nm as they would encourage algae growth and at times could be detrimental to coral growth. This idea was backed up by my experience as a wreck diver because the red spectrum disappears after only a few feet. So when I planned my display I picked 3W LEDS in spectrums from 360nm to 550nm and daylights at 10K and 20K, with 50% of the stars being 440nm and 450nm Blue.

SO my question is in the last two weeks I have seen a number of hobbyists talking about using LEDs in the 650-750nm spectrum to get better growth rate on their corals. Have I been thinking about this wrong, or are they just growing shallow water SPS that need more red light? I just want to build a display that will give me the best light spectrum for good coral growth.

2smokes
10/24/2016, 10:49 PM
10 000K has a lot of red in it.If you have white leds i dont think there is a need to add reds (650 nm).Red will help cyano and GHA to grow better in the diplay.And for the shallow water corals like most acropora you could use a perfect spectrum made of all the colors but if its led then you will miss the UV spectrum almost entirely because leds cant make UV light (UVB ,UVC and UVA).For a led lamp i would use mostly royal blue leds as the main source of light and i would add a few ,verry rare red ,blue and green leds.I wouldnt use white leds at all.Green light is useless for corals but its good if you have a yellow fish ,it will make yellow to look yellow not dirt green .https://s9.postimg.org/lt04csltb/UVspectrum.jpg

75mixedreef
10/25/2016, 07:17 AM