PDA

View Full Version : need advice

Beansdad
11/01/2016, 02:47 PM
Hey All!! Name is Rich and I have been Keeping FW for 12 years. My Daughter wanted Nemo And Dori, so here I am to learn. I have done more reading on FO Aquariums then I care to admit. I am getting to undertake this new endeavor with in the next month. I have a 90 gallon spare tank, it is not drilled. Is that ok or should I go bigger? Drill it or leave it alone? Over the course of time I plan to turn it into a reef. Current equipment: Fluval FX4, CPR Aquafuge 2, Reef Octopus 100 and MH/ T5 Aquarium Light and a Apex.

lg2725
11/01/2016, 02:59 PM
Dori is a blue tang. Minimum of 180 gallons and some say larger. The clown is ok in that sized tank.

ericarenee
11/01/2016, 03:02 PM
HI

Welcome to the Fabulous Money pit of Marine aquarium hobby

First to start off with a 90 gal tank would be a great size to start with . If you have the ability and finances to do so Def Drill it and get a sump for your equipment.. Its so much better in the long run. Canister filters are a maintenance nightmare

If you are only Considering this because your Daughter wants a Blue Hippo tank.. STOP!!! buy her some plush toys and occupy her mind with something else..

If you are serious The clown fish is a good choice for new setup once your tank has cycled.. a blue hippo is a Advanced user fish and required a much larger tank.. i have 7 foot 240 plus gallon tank and i do not feel it would be at home in my tank.

also start off right ..

read all the stickies and be sure from day one fish one you have a proper qt routine in place.. Marine tanks can be expensive but that cost goes why up having to fight parasite infections and putting sick fish in a system you have to destroy to get them out

Not Trying to Discourage you just make sure your ding it for the right reasons

Erica Renee ... I would have more money in the bank but i own a reef aquarium ..

reef thief
11/01/2016, 03:13 PM
Buy two clowns and name one Dory.

Preble